Duck Butter Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I've been eating this dip practically since birth and I was thrilled to see a recipie for it online. The inventor of this recipie was a man named Harold Miklethwaite. He was a Paris trained chef who owned and operated Harold's restaurant in Portsmouth Ohio from the early 60's until his death I believe in the mid 90's. Harold had a wicked sense of humor and he often said that his lips looked like a ducks bill. The logo for his restaurant was a duck in a tux, so naturally a good name for his dip was duck butter which was always the first thing the waiter placed on your table with a big basket of Melba toast. I moved to California in the late 70's, but always look back upon my youth fondly in southern Ohio and the great meals from Harold's restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Orino

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Didn't really like but edible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I love the overall taste of this spread. Either I put in too much salt or the recipe called for too much because it was way too salty. I would suggest tasting it before adding all the sal and keep in mind that the crackers you serve with it will probably be salted also. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Green, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dayton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
The dip was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ex-Braniff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I've made this several times and never gotten around to rating it. It's great as a spread with wheat thins, club crackers, actually any cracker with do. Not overpowering with blue cheese. Even friends who don't like blue cheese like this spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I want to like it, but its so salty. gonna try to doctor it up with more bleu cheese and more cream cheese. Then I'm sure it will be delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I thought this was very good. If you like blue cheese, then you will like this recipe. I served it with crackers and fresh veggies. The one downside is that it isn't the most visually appealing dip - it turns out somewhat gray colored. But in my opinion (and my guests)taste easily won out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Wow!!! This is awesome. If you like the ingredients you'll love this dip. I agree about the salt...it's really not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I'm not usually a blue cheese fan, but I made this over the holidays, and I gotta admit, it was yummy! Got good reviews from all my guests too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I made this for Christmas Eve and everyone enjoyed it. next time I would add a bit more hot sauce and the one change I did make was I rolled it into a ball and let it sit in the fridge over night and the next day I rolled in chopped walnuts and served with crackers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States