Duck Breasts with Raspberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I modified this recipe to roast a whole duck, and it was fantastic! I scored the skin and rubbed the whole thing down with the cinnamon/sugar/salt mixture before putting it in the oven (for the record, I just used regular kitchen salt and white sugar). I also quartered a whole lemon to put in the cavity and keep it moist. For the sauce, I replaced the red wine and cassis with a raspberry wine, and used mixed berries. I roasted some red potatoes in the pan with it, and it all came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Amazing! Hit with everyone. We cheated and used a raspberry preserve heated up. Just a heads up, tried it the second time with skinless breast meat and it ruined the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Absolutely amazing recipe. Invited some friends and told them it was my first try at this dish and even I was amazed with the results. Fantastic flavours, great with some vegetables and a good rose wine. Eveyone was impressed. Defo will do it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
These were great. Instead of cinnamon I used chipotle powder right in the sauce and I dropped out the wine and used 1/3 c of cassis instead, I used 1.5 c of raspberries and froz the extra sauce for next time. there was way too much of the sugar salt mix. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I hadn't cooked duck in a while, so I was looking forward to trying this recipe. Sadly, I'm not going to be using it again. The duck skin was too salty - 2 teaspoons tuned out waaay too salty for us- we ended up cutting off the skin. Also, the sauce with the raspberries was a bit bland and didn't match very well with the duck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GingerbreadMommy
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
The duck was tender. The spices were not overwhelming. I couldn't get used to the raspberry sauce on it. I took it off after a taste and I will use the raspberry sauce for crepe dessert next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerbreadMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Excellent recipe - really important not to over-broil it at the end. The sea salt, cinnamon and sugar rub was too much, and I ended up using only about 3/4 of it. I used Triple Sec instead of Creme de Cassis due to availability which worked out just fine. Otherwise the dish was fantastic and received rave reviews at Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newby3

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great recipe, I followed this to the letter. I was great I really enjoyed it and followed it to the letter. Good recipe for someone wished to time something new. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Martinez, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
The cinnamon was terrible on the duck. May have been ok without it. I had to wash the duck off and start over. Really ruined some nice wild duck breasts my coworker's husband caught.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving. I wasn't too fond of it, but it got reviews from everyone else. I think my dad ended up eating about half of it! There's lots of leftover sauce, so plan on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States