D's Taco Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
We all love pizza. We all love tacos. We didn't like this. It seemed like a great idea, but we missed the corn tortilla crunch of real tacos. On the other hand, we also missed the pizza flavors when we bit into our crust. It was too confusing for our palates, and we had leftovers - super rare - that no one would actually eat. But hey, if you like taco pizzas - my family just doesn't, I guess - this recipe looks like it would work well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Made with Master Pizza Dough cornmeal crust. This was a great taco pizza. The sauce was Soo good and yes it did make extra. I am looking forward to it tonight over meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
So good. I skip the blender step to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Pretty good! While I prefer a more traditional pizza, this was a fun change of pace nonetheless. My husband especially enjoyed dipping his tortilla chips in the remaining taco sauce. :) I think I would have liked this much better had my crust crisped up. Despite baking my Boboli crust directly on my oven rack, it was pretty soggy. I'll try a different crust next time or bake this as a deep dish pizza using frozen bread dough instead (this seems to crisp up better, IMHO). All in all, this was a great compromise between my husband's request for tacos and my taste for pizza. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Daisy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by duboo
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was excellent. To make again, I would cut the total sauce in half, but otherwise, wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
We all loved this. I used homemade whole wheat pizza crust, homemade refried beans, and cooked/peeled fresh tomatoes in place of canned. I also made 2 pizzas, so doubled most ingredients. However, I only used 8 oz cheese between the two pizzas. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
If you like tacos, you'll like this! I was making three different pizzas for a party, so to save time, I skipped making my own tomato mixture, opting for purchased salsa. Added garlic and oregano to my homemade crust. Spread in pan, coated it with olive oil and spread garlic on it. Cooked at 425 for 10 minutes. Topped with refried beans, beef mixture, salsa, cheese. Cooked 10 more minutes. Topped with lettuce, tomatoes, green onions, olives and sour cream. I had intended to also add diced avocado, but forgot them in the rush. Was a hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. This requires quite a bit of prep to put together. Even with the salsa the 'sauce' needed some extra flavor and made way too much. I think taco sauce mixed in with some salsa might be a way to go here. I skipped the olives and cilantro, not a fan of either. I put the sour cream in a bag, cut the tip and squeezed it over the pizza, worked great! It was tasty once all the ingredients are put on and tastes like a soft taco. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 18, May 2013 ~ My DH is a huge fan of taco pizza and I am not. This recipe made me a “homemade” taco pizza fan. I wasn’t positive on the crust it called for, so I used 2 Betty Crocker® pouches. I mixed it up, spread it and pre-baked at 450° for 5 minutes. When making the sauce, you will have a lot leftover – we used it in place of the additional 1 cup salsa. I layered the ingredients as called for and baked at 350° for 20 minutes. Knowing that we would not finish the entire pizza in one sitting, and not wanting to reheat the lettuce and tomatoes, I only “topped” half of the baked pizza. This worked perfect. The next night I reheated the pizza in the oven and when it was hot I topped with fresh lettuce, tomatoes, shredded cheese and green onion. I did omit the black olives, as we are not fans. It tasted like I had just made the pizza. My hubby and son topped their pizza with crushed taco chips, sour cream and the leftover pizza sauce. This recipe was wonderful and knowing how much my family enjoys taco pizza, I would not hesitate to make this version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made this recipe for the weekly recipe group selection. We really liked this pizza and wonder why we never thought about it ourselves. I used regular pizza dough, pre-baked it for five minutes at 425° so it won't be soggy and it held the pizza just fine. Couldn't find the canned tomatoes specified, so I used a 10oz. can of tomatoes and diced green chilies, with the salsa and just added in some fresh minced garlic and onions, used my immersion blender to mix it up. I did mix a bit into the beans to make them easier to spread onto the dough. For the ground beef mixture I used my own taco seasonings, and added in some fresh garlic, onions, and chopped green chilies, then let it simmer for a bit, no need for the extra water addition. It all baked up at 425° in 15 minutes to a perfect golden brown crust. The little bit of sauce leftover was great for dipping the crust. We will make this one again when we can't decide, Tacos or Pizza?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States