D's Skillet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This is a good basic recipe. I have been making gravy this way for years the only thing I do differently is I use bacon and fry it and not only use the drippings but I fry the bacon pretty crispy and crumble it up and throw it in there too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISTYDTHOMAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
My boyfriend has been craving a gravy like this and this was perfect. I used chicken drippings - perfect - I knew what I needed, but wasn't sure what proportions to use. This was exactly what I was looking for, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
First time for me to make gravy from scratch, it was great! I poured it over fried pork chops from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Turned out VERY GOOD as is and it was the first time I made gravy! I love gravy and this one was very good over mashed potatoes and beef. Although I think I might try to use beef stock next time for extra nutrients and flavour and see how that turns out, I think this recipe works fine with just the water and tastes good. I was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Very, very good. Yields less than I thought it would, but still excellent. I made it with Prime rib drippings and followed the recipe exactly, and it was great. One of the best I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I did use 1/2 cup of milk and 1 1/2 cup of water for more of a country creamy gravy. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
super easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS4FOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Very good, although I added beef bouillon shakers for extra beefy flavor. Also used 1/2 cup milk for extra creaminess. Thanks for a recipe that will be put to use often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Really good gravy. Really easy to make. Only advice, careful with the salt depending on what the meat was marinated or rubbed with and if you use beef broth instead of water. Mmmm, brought the mashed potatoes to life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was very similar to my mother's homemade gravy, but I used 1 cup beef stock and 1 cup milk and omitted the salt. We were stingy with it at dinner so we'd have enough leftover for open-faced roast beef sandwiches the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States