D's Skillet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This is a good basic recipe. I have been making gravy this way for years the only thing I do differently is I use bacon and fry it and not only use the drippings but I fry the bacon pretty crispy and crumble it up and throw it in there too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISTYDTHOMAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Very good, although I added beef bouillon shakers for extra beefy flavor. Also used 1/2 cup milk for extra creaminess. Thanks for a recipe that will be put to use often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I did use 1/2 cup of milk and 1 1/2 cup of water for more of a country creamy gravy. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Turned out VERY GOOD as is and it was the first time I made gravy! I love gravy and this one was very good over mashed potatoes and beef. Although I think I might try to use beef stock next time for extra nutrients and flavour and see how that turns out, I think this recipe works fine with just the water and tastes good. I was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Very, very good. Yields less than I thought it would, but still excellent. I made it with Prime rib drippings and followed the recipe exactly, and it was great. One of the best I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
The gravy was a little thin so I almost doubled the flour, used 3 T. grease from roast as pr. recipe, and 2 cups of the liquid from roast. My husband doesn't like any gravy except chicken, and really loved this. Thanks for the simple yet taste recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Like a previous user said, I started with bacon drippings and it was FANTASTIC! I did 1 1/2 the recipe and made 1/3 of the liquid milk instead of water to give it creaminess. Incredible! I'll admit I added a few extra things like some black pepper, about 6 drops of hot pepper sauce and a little powdered beef stew seasoning and gravy thickener because I was worried it would be too thin. In the end, it was phenomenal and the texture was perfect. Like another previous user, I also knew the ingredients but not the proportions, and this one was right on the money! I also got my kids to taste it, as supper is still a couple of hours away, and they LOVED it!-- Simple and delicious--it would be hard to go wrong with this recipe as a base. Keep in mind, the liquid boils out so if you want a full two cups of gravy, change the recipe to say '3 servings' instead of 2. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
My boyfriend has been craving a gravy like this and this was perfect. I used chicken drippings - perfect - I knew what I needed, but wasn't sure what proportions to use. This was exactly what I was looking for, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very very good, whether one uses beef, sausage, or chicken drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Absolutely awesome! This was my very first attempt to making home made gravy from pan drippings... and it was delicious! My hunny said it was better than his favorite gravy that his mom makes - that should be another rating in itself!!! Thanks, D! It's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States