D's Skillet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
the only real way to make gravy is to make it yourself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I didnt try the gravy but my husband requested that I NOT make this again and he eats/likes pretty much everything that I make. He didnt like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
The gravy was a little thin so I almost doubled the flour, used 3 T. grease from roast as pr. recipe, and 2 cups of the liquid from roast. My husband doesn't like any gravy except chicken, and really loved this. Thanks for the simple yet taste recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Like a previous user said, I started with bacon drippings and it was FANTASTIC! I did 1 1/2 the recipe and made 1/3 of the liquid milk instead of water to give it creaminess. Incredible! I'll admit I added a few extra things like some black pepper, about 6 drops of hot pepper sauce and a little powdered beef stew seasoning and gravy thickener because I was worried it would be too thin. In the end, it was phenomenal and the texture was perfect. Like another previous user, I also knew the ingredients but not the proportions, and this one was right on the money! I also got my kids to taste it, as supper is still a couple of hours away, and they LOVED it!-- Simple and delicious--it would be hard to go wrong with this recipe as a base. Keep in mind, the liquid boils out so if you want a full two cups of gravy, change the recipe to say '3 servings' instead of 2. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Pretty good. Not the country style gravy I was going for. Instead of 4 cups water, I did 2 cups water, 1 cup milk, and 1 cup buttermilk. I had to add cornstarch to thicken it up to my liking and added more salt and pepper. My dinner guests added more salt to it during dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Really good gravy. Really easy to make. Only advice, careful with the salt depending on what the meat was marinated or rubbed with and if you use beef broth instead of water. Mmmm, brought the mashed potatoes to life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Very good, although I added beef bouillon shakers for extra beefy flavor. Also used 1/2 cup milk for extra creaminess. Thanks for a recipe that will be put to use often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
My boyfriend has been craving a gravy like this and this was perfect. I used chicken drippings - perfect - I knew what I needed, but wasn't sure what proportions to use. This was exactly what I was looking for, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
super easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS4FOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I did use 1/2 cup of milk and 1 1/2 cup of water for more of a country creamy gravy. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States