D's Skillet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This gravy was very good. I used it over meatloaf and mashed potatoes. Used the drippings from the meatloaf (much more than 3 tbsps) and increased the flour to 3 tbsps. Also, put a dash of Worcestershire sauce and a beef bouillon cube in it just because it was on the counter and made me feel like a real chef throwing extra in. It was much lighter in color and flavor than I am use to with beef gravy and I loved it. Will be using this for shepherds pie in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skillet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very very good, whether one uses beef, sausage, or chicken drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
i just love this gravy...Im not a good gravy maker but this turned out perfect for me...this is a keeper thats for sure..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Used drippings from our meatloaf to have gravy over our mashed potatoes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is probably the way my mother made gravy; somehow mine is always too thin and I add extra cornstarch or flour; but maybe I don't have the patience to wait until it thickens up; I like the idea of adding some beef broth and milk to it instead of all water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Awsome. I made Rump Roast Au Jus in the crockpot from this site and used the skimmed fat and flour to make roux then used 1/2 cup juices from the meat and about 1 cup water it was soooo creamy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Klove_21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Came out great! No lumps! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Love it!!! I used the bacon also but a little more than suggested. Bacon, everythingy is great when bacon is involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
So simple and so good. I used beef broth in place of the water. Thanks for another keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was a great recipe. I usually can't make gravies but, with this one I was able too. I will use this recipe again. Even my eight year old son liked it and he's hard to please. The only thing I did was use some browning sauce to darken it a little bit other than that the recipe was good as it is. Thanks, D for a easy recipe that I can make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Bourne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gibsonton, Florida, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States