D's Skillet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This gravy was very good. I used it over meatloaf and mashed potatoes. Used the drippings from the meatloaf (much more than 3 tbsps) and increased the flour to 3 tbsps. Also, put a dash of Worcestershire sauce and a beef bouillon cube in it just because it was on the counter and made me feel like a real chef throwing extra in. It was much lighter in color and flavor than I am use to with beef gravy and I loved it. Will be using this for shepherds pie in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skillet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very very good, whether one uses beef, sausage, or chicken drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
i just love this gravy...Im not a good gravy maker but this turned out perfect for me...this is a keeper thats for sure..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Used drippings from our meatloaf to have gravy over our mashed potatoes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is probably the way my mother made gravy; somehow mine is always too thin and I add extra cornstarch or flour; but maybe I don't have the patience to wait until it thickens up; I like the idea of adding some beef broth and milk to it instead of all water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Awsome. I made Rump Roast Au Jus in the crockpot from this site and used the skimmed fat and flour to make roux then used 1/2 cup juices from the meat and about 1 cup water it was soooo creamy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Klove_21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Came out great! No lumps! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Love it!!! I used the bacon also but a little more than suggested. Bacon, everythingy is great when bacon is involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
So simple and so good. I used beef broth in place of the water. Thanks for another keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was a great recipe. I usually can't make gravies but, with this one I was able too. I will use this recipe again. Even my eight year old son liked it and he's hard to please. The only thing I did was use some browning sauce to darken it a little bit other than that the recipe was good as it is. Thanks, D for a easy recipe that I can make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Bourne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gibsonton, Florida, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States