D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Lived in Texas, California and Colorado, so I know my salsas. :) This one is REALLY good. I followed the recipe except I used green chili POWDER and about 1/2 tsp of sugar. YUM. And the original poster is right--I like my salsa chunky, too, but this really tastes best when blended. Maybe you could add some diced tomatoes and onions after blending?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
My daughter took a shortcut and used Rotel instead of tomatoes and green chiles. Even quicker! It was a big hit at a recent family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYa24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very easy to make and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Love, love, love this salsa sooo much!!! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this as an appetizer on Thanksgiving day and my family and friends loved it. My husband said it was perfectly hot enough (I used 1/2 a can of green chilis) and it was really very easy to make. I used two cans of Hunt's fire-roasted diced tomatoes. Heed others' advice and don't over blend in the blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Warning! VERY addicting salsa! Excellent flavor & spice and so simple to make. Had to make a second batch before I put everything away! If you find the salsa a little runny for your liking, just add a tbsp or two of tomato sauce with a pinch of sugar...just perfect!! I also add a few shakes of chili powder as another recommended. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This salsa is my favorite!! I make it all the time and even my boss (who doesn't like salsa, mind you) loves it! I use the mexican style stewed tomatoes and add a pinch of cayenne pepper for a little extra spice. I add fresh, diced jalapeno's when I want to spice it up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I liked this, and so did my husband. It had a really fresh taste. I loved that it wasn't spicy. My husband added a few things to make his really hot, and he absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
It is a good base to start from. I added a lot more onion, cilantro, and lime juice than the recipe called for. I also added jalapenos and instead of using regular salt I added garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I think the consistency of this salsa was perfect. After reading other posts, I drained only one can of tomatoes, and I don't even think I needed to. Also, someone else suggested adding sugar. I'm so glad I didn't follow that advice. This salsa is already too sweet for my taste, which is why I didn't give it a 5. I love cilantro, so I would definitely add more. I'm still on my search for the perfect salsa, so I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States