D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
The original recipe tasted a bit bland, but after adding one picante pepper the salsa tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Tried this recipe twice and made a couple of modifications the second time with tastier results. What I did different was drain the stewed tomatoes before putting them in the blender, and I added 3 fresh jalapenos instead of the canned green chiles... this gave it a nice little kick. I would suggest preparing the salsa and letting it sit overnight in the fridge or at least a few hours before you plan on serving it...well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stosh63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
When I first saw this recipe, I wasn't really sure why this simple recipe with common ingredients can be "so good." But because of its simplicity and many reviewers said it'll only takes a few pressing of a pulse button, I've decided to try this. I've got everything except my grocery store was completely out of limes because of Cinco de Mayo so I had to substitute it with lemon. I also got fresh chili peppers just in case and was very tempted to use those instead of canned peppers because I was worried about the canned stewed tomatoes and canned peppers might make the taste of this salsa like a store bought jarred salsa which I really hate but I decided to give the canned pepper a try. I only made half of what's written and it was super quick to make. From the gathering of ingredients to pour the salsa into a bowl, it took less than 5 minutes. But because it was just for me, I thought it still made a plenty of salsa, probably good for at least 2-4 people. Well, that was only 15 minutes ago and my salsa is... GONE! Yes, I finished 2/3 of the salsa while I was standing next to the blender, and finally sat down to enjoy the rest. Did I read someone did the same thing somewhere?! Well, anyways, I don't even have much chips left but I'm debating if I should just make another batch! It was delicious for sure. Thank you! I guess I can stop buying salsa from the Mexican restaurant now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
GREAT Salsa! So easy to make. I used mexican stewed tomatoes like others suggested. And added extra cilantro just because I like it so much. Will be making this again. No more store bought salsa for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Used regular canned plum tomatoes, 1 fresh jalapeno, and happened to have some homemade marinated jalapenos as well. Everything else according to the recipe, except I didn't have cilantro, so I used parsley (I know it's a sacrilege). Overall very very good even at first taste. Can't wait to see how it is after sitting in the fridge for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
OMG!!!!!!!!! This is the best salsa ever!! Trust me, I make all kinds of salsas and this is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Teresa, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very delicious recipe. Everyone at work raved about it especially with tomatoes from a can. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Loubert
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I love that I can quickly make homemade salsa with items that I usually have on hand. It's also great that I don't have to sit there and dice up a slew of tomatoes. On that note: I used canned diced tomatoes (one Rotel and one Hunts petite diced), drained, and I mixed everything by hand rather than using the blender because I prefer a thicker, chunkier salsa. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Loubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Helen, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Wow! Now, this is some really good salsa! No wonder the word "famous" is in the title! I've been searching for a really good salsa recipe and I think I've finally come across some really good stuff. I cut the recipe in half and used a 14.5 oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes. Instead of green chiles I opted to used 1 Tbsp. of jalepeno as that's what I had on hand. I added 2 tsp. of apple cider vinegar, 2 tsp. of minced garlic from the jar, and 1/2 tsp. of sugar. I put this into my mini food processor and let it go.... I put it in the fridge for a couple of hours to let the flavors blend and this is now my "go to" salsa recipe. Perfect with warm tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Delicious! Reminds me of my grandfather's Salsa! Next time I will add Jalapenos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 761) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States