D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This is great. The only change I made is I used crushed tomatoes as I like my salsa thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
great recipe. except i altered it a bit to my taste. i added more cilantro. I also used fresh tomatoes, and fresh garlic. it was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This is a solid Salsa Recipe to have. Good flavor, not difficult to make at all. I usually use Jalapeno Peppers instead of Green Chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
The original recipe tasted a bit bland, but after adding one picante pepper the salsa tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Tried this recipe twice and made a couple of modifications the second time with tastier results. What I did different was drain the stewed tomatoes before putting them in the blender, and I added 3 fresh jalapenos instead of the canned green chiles... this gave it a nice little kick. I would suggest preparing the salsa and letting it sit overnight in the fridge or at least a few hours before you plan on serving it...well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stosh63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
When I first saw this recipe, I wasn't really sure why this simple recipe with common ingredients can be "so good." But because of its simplicity and many reviewers said it'll only takes a few pressing of a pulse button, I've decided to try this. I've got everything except my grocery store was completely out of limes because of Cinco de Mayo so I had to substitute it with lemon. I also got fresh chili peppers just in case and was very tempted to use those instead of canned peppers because I was worried about the canned stewed tomatoes and canned peppers might make the taste of this salsa like a store bought jarred salsa which I really hate but I decided to give the canned pepper a try. I only made half of what's written and it was super quick to make. From the gathering of ingredients to pour the salsa into a bowl, it took less than 5 minutes. But because it was just for me, I thought it still made a plenty of salsa, probably good for at least 2-4 people. Well, that was only 15 minutes ago and my salsa is... GONE! Yes, I finished 2/3 of the salsa while I was standing next to the blender, and finally sat down to enjoy the rest. Did I read someone did the same thing somewhere?! Well, anyways, I don't even have much chips left but I'm debating if I should just make another batch! It was delicious for sure. Thank you! I guess I can stop buying salsa from the Mexican restaurant now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
GREAT Salsa! So easy to make. I used mexican stewed tomatoes like others suggested. And added extra cilantro just because I like it so much. Will be making this again. No more store bought salsa for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Used regular canned plum tomatoes, 1 fresh jalapeno, and happened to have some homemade marinated jalapenos as well. Everything else according to the recipe, except I didn't have cilantro, so I used parsley (I know it's a sacrilege). Overall very very good even at first taste. Can't wait to see how it is after sitting in the fridge for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
OMG!!!!!!!!! This is the best salsa ever!! Trust me, I make all kinds of salsas and this is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Teresa, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very delicious recipe. Everyone at work raved about it especially with tomatoes from a can. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States