D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I liked this, and so did my husband. It had a really fresh taste. I loved that it wasn't spicy. My husband added a few things to make his really hot, and he absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
It is a good base to start from. I added a lot more onion, cilantro, and lime juice than the recipe called for. I also added jalapenos and instead of using regular salt I added garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I think the consistency of this salsa was perfect. After reading other posts, I drained only one can of tomatoes, and I don't even think I needed to. Also, someone else suggested adding sugar. I'm so glad I didn't follow that advice. This salsa is already too sweet for my taste, which is why I didn't give it a 5. I love cilantro, so I would definitely add more. I'm still on my search for the perfect salsa, so I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I was super excited to make this recipe for football Saturday because of the great reviews. I'll tell you that this recipe needs a lot of "doctoring" if you make it as called for. The ingredients have the potential, yet the canned tomato taste is very apparent. Fresh versus canned...there's a reason why chefs use fresh ingredients. The only way I can imagine giving this as a gift is if your friends are bachelors or your family lives on Lean Cuisines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Made this for my 10 year old. He wanted it smooth! It tasted great. I used fresh 9 Roma's and gutted them to make the salsa less runny for the smooth blending. I used my hand held blender, at the end, to get it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freyja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This is an excellent salsa recipe. I have made it several different ways, and it is honestly hard to mess up. Our favorite version uses A. fresh, summer tomatoes from the garden, but if those are not available, I use Mexican seasoned canned tomatoes-name brand only. B. I also add about 1/2 cup of green onions for a fresher taste, and C. 1/4-1/2 cup of canned jalapenos, or two fresh ones-for a little kick. D. Then I add about 1 tsp of cumin and E. 1 tsp of sugar. We like ours a little chunky so I only pulse in the food processor for about 5 seconds. Absolutely perfect Texas salsa. Thank you, Denise, for sharing with all of us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I have made this so many times. There's just no way to screw it up!!! I sometimes switch green chilies for jalapenos or use cans of Fire roasted tomatoes but it is always top notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Wonderful tasting salsa. I did do a few changes in the recipe. I used fresh tomatoes from the garden and added a couple of jalapeno peppers for more heat. A+ A+A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Terrific! I added 2 tsp of salt and a tsp of pepper. I also used fresh jalapeno (1.5 small ones)...absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliKupcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boelus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Delicious! I used fresh tomatoes rather than canned and no chilies because my family does not like anything hot, and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 742) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States