D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Wow! I am addicted. So delicious and fresh tasting. I ,like some other reviewers, was hesitant because of the canned tomatoes but it was delicious. A keeper for our family. Once the summer months come I will use fresh tomatoes. I also didn't drain the juices out of the tomatoes made it just like the recipe said and it wasn't too wet for us. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Great Salsa!!We add a little more to make it a bit hotter, but this has been a great hit everywhere we have taken it. We have had a jar in the house ever since we made the first batch. I am done getting salsa from the store. and it really is super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
YUM! I added half of a jalapeno for some heat. Very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Pretty good. It tasted more oniony than I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made some alterations based on what I had on hand. I drained the tomatoes to avoid a salsa that is excessively loose. I also used frozen cilantro cubes instead of fresh. I had no lime or lemon juice so I used grapefruit juice and didn't really notice a difference. I also used an entire onion because it was on the smaller side. Plus I added a wee bit of ground pepper. This was pretty good and I'll make it again sometime. I think the garlic is part of what makes it SO good. I'd like to try it with roasted tomatoes and roasted garlic next time to see how that changes the flavor. I bet with fresh cilantro and fresh chili peppers it would be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This salsa was so easy to make and so delicious. Way better than store bought salsa and much more economical. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
PERFECT!!!! Drain the tomatoes for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsiever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This is great salsa , quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Added some cayenne pepper a lil more garlic and onion and lime great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Easy! Delicious! My only modification was substituting one of the cans of stewed tomatoes with a can of diced tomatoes with habaneros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 752) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States