D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Whether you are using canned or fresh tomatoes, you simply can't go wrong with D's recipe. I've been using it and the family is like "Where'd you buy that salsa?" LOL. If you're using fresh tomatoes I'd go with either beefsteak or roma, but then you have to do the whole skin/seeds/water removal. Just keep in mind, there's something about a stewed tomato that is all about flavor enhancement. Way to go, D, it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomato Basics

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. I had never made salsa before, and this was easy and delicious. It's very mild, so I will play with the heat by adding some fresh jalapenos next time. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very good! No changes. Not spicy due to us using mild chiles...might do medium or hot chiles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
wonderful! Can't wait to try this with fresh tomatoes this summer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Wow! I am addicted. So delicious and fresh tasting. I ,like some other reviewers, was hesitant because of the canned tomatoes but it was delicious. A keeper for our family. Once the summer months come I will use fresh tomatoes. I also didn't drain the juices out of the tomatoes made it just like the recipe said and it wasn't too wet for us. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Great Salsa!!We add a little more to make it a bit hotter, but this has been a great hit everywhere we have taken it. We have had a jar in the house ever since we made the first batch. I am done getting salsa from the store. and it really is super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
YUM! I added half of a jalapeno for some heat. Very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Pretty good. It tasted more oniony than I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made some alterations based on what I had on hand. I drained the tomatoes to avoid a salsa that is excessively loose. I also used frozen cilantro cubes instead of fresh. I had no lime or lemon juice so I used grapefruit juice and didn't really notice a difference. I also used an entire onion because it was on the smaller side. Plus I added a wee bit of ground pepper. This was pretty good and I'll make it again sometime. I think the garlic is part of what makes it SO good. I'd like to try it with roasted tomatoes and roasted garlic next time to see how that changes the flavor. I bet with fresh cilantro and fresh chili peppers it would be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This salsa was so easy to make and so delicious. Way better than store bought salsa and much more economical. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 756) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States