D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
5 starts. This is the recipe that got me started on allrecipes many many years ago. I was harassed to make this salsa constantly, until finally my dad got frustrated and just started making it himself. I've always skipped the canned chiles and used fresh jalapeño instead. Also, if you don't want it too watery, add all ingredients to a blender, then throw the canned stewed tomatoes in last and turn the blender on just long enough so everything mixes. You can also drain a little bit of liquid out of the stewed tomatoes before dumping it in to get it a little chunkier still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Absolutely WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
A-ok. Liked it just fine. I would like a little more kick, so will try hot sauce and spices next time. Did it in the food processor and didn't chop anything first, so it is easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Perhaps my blender is not that good, but I just got a soupy salsa that tasted average. My advice would be not to use a blender whatsoever and chop/dice everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Melo Hall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I guess I am not a cilantro fan. I haven't cooked with it before and I really couldn't taste anything but the cilantro once I tasted this salsa. I did try to let it sit overnight hoping it would taste better but no luck. I'll still give 3 stars because if I had left the cilantro out I have a feeling this would have been OK, though nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I love that you can utilize this recipe to your liking. I used fresh tomatoes, corn, lime and garlic. Only items I used in my food processor were the onions, green peppers and garlic. For just a few seconds. Tomatoes and corn were added and along with seasonings and it came out great. My recommendation would be to leave the tomatoes out of the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
LOVEEED IT! Added 3 more tablespoons of cilantro and a dash of cumin. Had it for a family get together and it was gone in literally an hr! mmmmmmm =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Great and simple salsa recipe. I strained my tomatoes of as much of the juice as I could to avoid a runny salsa. I added half a jalapeno to mine and per other review recommendations, used non-generic canned stewed tomatoes. Make sure you check for seasoning after you mix the ingredients, mine needed a bit more salt. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Note: I think this recipe would be even better if I had all the right ingredients. However, I only had one can of stewed tomatoes, no fresh anything and a can of Rotel (lime and cilantro variety). I used 1 can stewed tomatoes, 1 can rotel (green chiles with lime and cilantro variety), 1 tsp onion powder, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp salt, and 1 tsp lime juice. Even with these inferior ingredients, this salsa is great. Just like a fresh mexican restaurant salsa. I drained all my tomatoes and the salsa was still pretty wet. This salsa recipe is good enough to get me to buy fresh onion, garlic and cilantro - not things normally seen in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerome, Idaho, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
the WORST recipe i have ever tried for salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 756) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States