D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Love, love, love this salsa sooo much!!! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this as an appetizer on Thanksgiving day and my family and friends loved it. My husband said it was perfectly hot enough (I used 1/2 a can of green chilis) and it was really very easy to make. I used two cans of Hunt's fire-roasted diced tomatoes. Heed others' advice and don't over blend in the blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Warning! VERY addicting salsa! Excellent flavor & spice and so simple to make. Had to make a second batch before I put everything away! If you find the salsa a little runny for your liking, just add a tbsp or two of tomato sauce with a pinch of sugar...just perfect!! I also add a few shakes of chili powder as another recommended. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This salsa is my favorite!! I make it all the time and even my boss (who doesn't like salsa, mind you) loves it! I use the mexican style stewed tomatoes and add a pinch of cayenne pepper for a little extra spice. I add fresh, diced jalapeno's when I want to spice it up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I liked this, and so did my husband. It had a really fresh taste. I loved that it wasn't spicy. My husband added a few things to make his really hot, and he absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
It is a good base to start from. I added a lot more onion, cilantro, and lime juice than the recipe called for. I also added jalapenos and instead of using regular salt I added garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I think the consistency of this salsa was perfect. After reading other posts, I drained only one can of tomatoes, and I don't even think I needed to. Also, someone else suggested adding sugar. I'm so glad I didn't follow that advice. This salsa is already too sweet for my taste, which is why I didn't give it a 5. I love cilantro, so I would definitely add more. I'm still on my search for the perfect salsa, so I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I was super excited to make this recipe for football Saturday because of the great reviews. I'll tell you that this recipe needs a lot of "doctoring" if you make it as called for. The ingredients have the potential, yet the canned tomato taste is very apparent. Fresh versus canned...there's a reason why chefs use fresh ingredients. The only way I can imagine giving this as a gift is if your friends are bachelors or your family lives on Lean Cuisines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Made this for my 10 year old. He wanted it smooth! It tasted great. I used fresh 9 Roma's and gutted them to make the salsa less runny for the smooth blending. I used my hand held blender, at the end, to get it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freyja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This is an excellent salsa recipe. I have made it several different ways, and it is honestly hard to mess up. Our favorite version uses A. fresh, summer tomatoes from the garden, but if those are not available, I use Mexican seasoned canned tomatoes-name brand only. B. I also add about 1/2 cup of green onions for a fresher taste, and C. 1/4-1/2 cup of canned jalapenos, or two fresh ones-for a little kick. D. Then I add about 1 tsp of cumin and E. 1 tsp of sugar. We like ours a little chunky so I only pulse in the food processor for about 5 seconds. Absolutely perfect Texas salsa. Thank you, Denise, for sharing with all of us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 756) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States