D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Thie recipe was amazing. The only things I would suggest are 1. buying Hunt's tomatoes - don't substitute with a generic brand. 2. draining the tomatoes, unless you like a really runny salsa. 3. only blending on pulse a few times - I'm talking seconds. The first batch I made was very runny, but the second one was AMAZING, and I got so many compliments on it!! :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I loved this but I don't like uncooked canned tomatoes so I used fresh Roma, my garden is full in summer so I make this as often as I can. Always a hit at get together's. Try the fresh tomatoes you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Wonderful tasting salsa. I did do a few changes in the recipe. I used Mexican stewed tomatoes, fresh jalapeno's, lemon juice in place of lime, lots of cilantro and added about a teaspoon of chili powder to mine. All our favorite Mexican restaurants tell us to use the chili powder. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Words cannot describe how I feel about this recipe. It's soooo good. I was skeptical that it could really taste fresh with canned tomatoes, but it truly does. I didn't change a thing and it was mild and flavorful. When you originally chop your onions, leave them a little on the big side, that way when you blend them, they won't be puried and be overpowering. Also, don't over blend the salsa. After reading reviews, it seems some have complained about the consistency, that it's too runny. I didn't drain my tomatoes, but only pulsed my blender a few times. The consistency was perfect. I've eaten chips and salsa for lunch 2 days in a row now. I'm addicted and will make this regularly. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
Good as it is, but if you're looking for more of a homemade, less sweet taste try using fresh cut Mexican style canned tomatoes in lieu of the stewed tomatoes. I also added a jalapeno to give it more flavor, and added green onions for less of a "canned" taste. Wonderful! Tastes just like the salsa at our favorite Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
[I rated this recipe once before. I do NOT blend the tomatoes, because I like chunky sauce. Everyone is SO impressed with the recipe!] Original review: "A KEEPER! - and also to share! Anyone who objects to canned, and/or Ro-Tel tomatoes should remember that purchased salsa has been cooked and processed. This recipe has the additional fresh ingredients which takes it FAR above the average purchased salsa (and much cheaper than store prices). Thanks so VERY much for sharing!" [If you want "chunky salsa" do NOT use the blender].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This is a quick and easy recipe for delicious salsa-the key is to blend the ingredients for a few seconds. Tastes even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This is an absolutely fantastic recipe. I make it for all the parties that we go to - and continue to get lots of requests for it! It is very important to remember to drain the tomatoes - otherwise it is too runny. This has joined my recipe book as one of my 'regulars'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Wow! Now, this is some really good salsa! No wonder the word "famous" is in the title! I've been searching for a really good salsa recipe and I think I've finally come across some really good stuff. I cut the recipe in half and used a 14.5 oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes. Instead of green chiles I opted to used 1 Tbsp. of jalepeno as that's what I had on hand. I added 2 tsp. of apple cider vinegar, 2 tsp. of minced garlic from the jar, and 1/2 tsp. of sugar. I put this into my mini food processor and let it go.... I put it in the fridge for a couple of hours to let the flavors blend and this is now my "go to" salsa recipe. Perfect with warm tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
Excellant recipe! In addition to the base, I used an additional 1/4 of an onion, 12oz of jalapeno's, a teaspoon of red pepper, a teaspoon of cayenne and a dash of chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 756) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States