Dry Spice Rub for Lamb or Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Did not care for this spice rub at all. It left very little in the way of flavor. My grilled lamb chops with an acid based marinade have always turned out much better tasting. I wanted to try something new, but the chops were not good with this spice rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This was pretty good, I made up a lot, so I would have more later. I used it this time on lamb chops that I grilled over wood coals. I also let the rub stay on the chops overnight before grilling. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
As the recipe stands, I did not enjoy it. But with one simple tweak it came alive: sea salt. Without the salt, the flavour is plain and hardly comes alive. But once I added salt to the mix, everything was jigging and jiving, and my tongue thanked me greatly! As it is being used on fatty cuts such as lamb, it will not leach out too much liquid. If salt had been added, I would have given this 4-5 stars. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
when i rubbed the spices in, i did it with a bit of olive oil. when i cooked it, i added a couple slivers of garlic and a little wine, and then i reduced the sauce to a couple tablespoons. It was really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
It's also great for pork loin roast! I make this up in bulk and keep it in a labeled airtight jar. I add 1 1/2 tsp salt and 3/4 tsp granulated garlic, and omit the curry (nobody here likes curry) Then I use about 2-3 Tablespoons of the mixture rubbed onto the fat side of the pork roast. When I remember to do it, I poke holes into the roast first, with a fork to let the flavor penetrate. Mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This rub was great on the roast I made last night. I added a small amount of salt and fresh ground pepper to the rub, and it was delicious. I'll definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was very good. I did add some salt and pepper as suggested by some other reviewers and I feel it did bring out the flavor. I used a mild Jamaican curry. I love Cumin and you just can't go wrong with anything it goes in. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
VERY good rub. We added sea salt as well and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I love this recipe, and so does my family. We tried something different, yesterday, though, and put it on a roast, two days ago, then yesterday, we put it in our smoker, with mesquite briquettes. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazinghorror

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States