Dry Rub for Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Good start, needs work though. Less salt, added onion powder and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hippi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Brooksie.. have issue with your review.. not sure where you heard not to use salt proir with rub.. but your crazy... you watch or talk with any bbq pro's there are plenty of them out there that use straight Salt and Pepper rubs prior to cooking.... please dont give bad advice if ya dont know what your talking about. Other then that this RUB works everyone has diffferent taste palets so try it out and see if you like it ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
great rub, i cooked mine on rotisseri on grill on low heat, i added more rub as the skin and fat cooked. after 2 1/2 to 3 hours everything was crispy and carmelized. i also added 1/2 tsp onion powder and 1/2 tsp chili powder to the rub while deleting 1/2 tsp of the salt. AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is my 'go-to' rub recipe however I like to add ground coffee, but don't use salt in the rub cause the bbq sauce has enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
no salt. let sit in foil 5 hrs. bake on low 3 hrs then grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was the first time I fixed ribs myself and both kids LOVED them. Made the rub as written except i used minced garlic. Slow roasted for about 4 hour them on the grill...Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Excellent flavor. I used fresh minced garlic and increase the amount (but I always increase the garlic!) and I also used come onion powder. In the last 10 minutes or so of grilling, I just coated the ribs with a brushing of Lucille's barbecue sauce. Delicious. Grill the ribs very slowly, at least an hour and a half on very low temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
The flavor was excellent and the smell just made me hunger even more. I used it on spare ribs as that is what I already had but think it would have been better on a nice rack of baby backs. I also dipped the meat in cider vinegar before applying the rub to allow the rub to really penetrate....Mmmmmm!!! This sure was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is the best dry rub recipe ever! I used to love my ribs slathered in sauce, now I can only eat them if they have this rub on them. So many of my family and friends have wanted this recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I have been using this rub for years on my ribs and I get people asking me for the recipe all the time. It's a fantastic rub. Awesome flavour - the perfect amount of sweet and salty for pork. I reduce the amount of black pepper a lot because I'm not a huge fan of black pepper but have added a little cayenne instead once in awhile. I let the rub sit for a full 24 hours and then Q them. I've also use bbq over top of the rub for those folks who really want sauce on their ribs and they're still awesome tasting. Thanks for making my ribs the best in town, Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Kansas City BBQ Ribs

Pork ribs seasoned with a spice rub and bbq sauce cooked right on the grill.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States