Dry Rub for Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Excellent base! I added some cayenne, coriander and Adobo seasoning. I had some boneless ribs that needed to be cooked, and for more people than I bargained for. I cut up the ribs into cubes, marinated them in the rub for a few hours & then stuck them onto skewers for the grill. They'd created some "juice" in the marinade dish so I basted them with that juice while they cooked. Incredibly moist and tasty! (If you use wooden skewers don't forget to soak them first so they don't burn!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dei

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Very good and very simple. Used it in a recipe that uses a LOT of dry rub and it turned out fantastic. I keep some in a mason jar in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Decided to make this recipe at the last minute when I realized we needed to leave in 30 minutes to make our BBQ. I rubbed yellow mustard onto the ribs and then put the rub on top and massaged it all in. Very good and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Did not have garlic powder, thus used garlic salt and did not use salt in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I also added some onion powder and cummin! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandra
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This was fantastic. I had never made ribs before and I was looking for something simple and tasty. I did what others said and left out some of the salt. I wrapped the rubbed ribs in foil and put them in a pan in the oven for about an hour and a half and then we put them on the grill with a little BBQ sauce to caramelize. I planned on making them "sloppy" after we took them off the grill with more BBQ sauce, but we didn't need to! Next time, we won't use any sauce because the rub was absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I used this marinade on pork loin and it was overwhelmingly too peppery...overpowered the marinade and the pork!! I would cut the pepper in half just to be on the safe side! Otherwise it was great. I love a good dry rub recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poetdoll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very good base recipe. You can tweek to your personal liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Merrill, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This rub was good, but it needed a little more "zip" for my taste. Next time I make it, I'll take the suggestion of some other reviewers & add some red pepper. I made the recipe exactly as it called for, but I added 1 teaspoon of onion powder and I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and waited to salt the ribs until right before I put them in the oven. I rubbed the rest of the spices on the ribs, wrapped them in foil and put them in the frig for about 5 hours before putting them in a 350 oven for an hour and a half. Then I charred them on the grill. They were yummy, but I wished for just a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I like to add about 1/2 cup of raw onions. The juice from the onions turns this into a paste and makes it stick to the ribs while I marinate them. After about 3 hours of marinating, they are ready to be slow cooked and enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Kansas City BBQ Ribs

Pork ribs seasoned with a spice rub and bbq sauce cooked right on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States