Dry Ranch Style Seasoning for Dip or Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I used this to make dressing. I found the thyme to taste strange in ranch dressing, so I used dill instead. Tasted much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This recipe was a life saver for me... I was making an Antipasto pasta salad for a dinner party and could not find the packet version in my pantry (sure I have a secret pantry thief, as over this last week I had a move around and now, can't find a thing!!!). The only thing I will say is that I halved the amount of salt, and found it a little on the salty side. Would have liked to have added dill weed, but didn't have any. In future I will be making this, rather than paying $1.50 from the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was by far my favorite dry ranch recipe! I followed others' advice and only used 1/4 salt and 1/4 seasoned salt- I didn't have thyme, so I didn't use it.. It tasted GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was excellent! I made salad dressing with it. Followed recipe exactly except it needed more buttermilk as it was too thick. I usually make my own dressing with tends to be a savory vinegar and oil or a sweet vinegar, oil and honey variations. But I LOVE ranch dressing and was a little nervous about making it. I won't buy the bottled again. I'll just have to keep some buttermilk in my fridge at all times! I made mine 2 days ahead of time. I think this definitely helps marry the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Had to double all seasoning used Creole season salt. Added dill, not bad. Best if flavors are left to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
A great combination of spices. I added a little dill and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I took the advice and added dill weed, but shouldn't have added so much thyme. I think next time I'll leave out the thyme and just add a pinch if needed. Otherwise, this was great to whip up. I also added a few drops of Cholula. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Make a big batch and keep it in your cupboard for seasoning various things. I just add it by taste to equal parts mayo and sourcream for the dip version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Wow. This was gross. At first I cut back on the pepper and seasoned salt as many suggested - and it was gross. Then I added the rest of the salt and pepper - still yucky. Don't make this unless your taste buds are all dead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I made this to use as a dry seasoning in another recipe because I didn't have any store bought ones on hand. It was kinda gross, all I could taste was the thyme. Didn't taste like ranch at all! Maybe it was because I didn't add the mayo & buttermilk to turn it into a dressing....but it just didn't do it for me at all, sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States