Dry Ranch Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
I scaled this to 18 servings to use for the "spinach roll-ups" recipe on Allrecipes and everything turned out incredible! The only substations I made were that I used all onion powder instead of onion powder and onion salt, I added some dried chives because I accidentally bought them for this recipe before realizing that a different ranch recipe called for them, and I used onion flavored brown rice snaps instead of saltines due to food allergies. I haven't been able to have ranch dressing or mix since being diagnosed with allergies and am so excited to have this recipe! Next, I'll try making dressing with it. Thank you for the simple and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I cut the servings down to 50 and it was almost enough to fill an empty spice container. I was missing the onion salt so I added a pinch of kosher salt. The cracker equaled 1 saltine at 50 servings. I blended this in my magic bullet mixer. This turned out better than I expected. I am going to bake a pizza and butter the outer crust after baking then sprinkle this ranch mix onto the buttered crust for a ranch flavored crust. (I need to say crust one more time...crust)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Used garlic and onion powders instead of garlic and onion salts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
ok the recipe is missing info. How much dry mix do you add to how much mayo or buttermilk? it needs to be finished dont you think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This is Terrific! Simple and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I scaled this down to 50 servings, and I have some left for other recipes. I like keeping something like this in my pantry in little cleaned-out used jars (be sure to label them, though, because you DO forget!). The only thing I didn't have was onion salt, but I just added a touch of sea salt and that seemed to be just fine. I found it interesting that it called for saltines! I had no idea how that would work. We liked this a lot and will use it again! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I have been using this recipe as is for years. It is good. The flavor is just about spot on for Hidden Valley. My only complaint has been that it does not thicken like Hidden Valley especially for using as a dip. I also like the idea of using a buttermilk powder. So when I mixed up a batch this time, I did not use the saltines, but added a 1/2 cup buttermilk powder instead. The flavor is still great. When I mixed up the dressing, just used milk instead of buttermilk since I had used the powder. This recipe is great for using in other recipes, meals that ask for a package of dry Hidden Valley. It's way cheaper & of course far healthier. Also, I use good Celtic sea salt & don't like to use the premade onion & garlic salts because the table salt in it is horrible. So I omitted the garlic & onion salts, and instead did the conversions needed to add an extra tablespoon of garlic & onion powder & the salt separately. I worked out great. I'm experimenting now w/ added a bit of guar gum which is a natural thickener to see if I can thicken it up. Then it will be perfect! Also, my next experiment will be to mix some up using greek yogurt instead of mayo to see how that tastes & see if I can make it a nice lite ranch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
No more seasoning packets! I scaled the mix way back to 10. I want to try it out before I make a years supply. That produced about 2 packets worth of seasoning mix. I put half in a season jar and put in in the rack, and with the other half I made ranch dip. Also, I added about a tbsp of dry milk. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This mix is just what it claims to be a dry ranch mix. You can add or sub but this base is good on its own. Do not omit the crackers as it lends the texture and a certain flavor. Measure out as needed for recipes. I've used it in a dip and in a chicken marinade recipe and both had the flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is way better than ranch packets and has no msg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States