Dry Ranch Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This mix is just what it claims to be a dry ranch mix. You can add or sub but this base is good on its own. Do not omit the crackers as it lends the texture and a certain flavor. Measure out as needed for recipes. I've used it in a dip and in a chicken marinade recipe and both had the flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
First, I cut this down to 4 servings. I made this to use in the "ranch oyster crackers" from this site. I omitted the saltine crackers, used 1/4 tsp garlic salt and 1/8 tsp onion salt (watching our salt intake). I had a dill mix from the pampered chef. This made a nice and mild flavor to the oyster crackers (wasn't over powering in our soup). I will make this into salad dressing next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
not sure how to quite rate this, as it was a base to what I actually made... I used the dried parsley, garlic salt, onion salt, onion powder, garlic powder, dried dill weed but subbed 1/2 cup dried buttermilk for saltines. also used teaspoons instead of cups for smaller batch. was a good base though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I have been using this recipe as is for years. It is good. The flavor is just about spot on for Hidden Valley. My only complaint has been that it does not thicken like Hidden Valley especially for using as a dip. I also like the idea of using a buttermilk powder. So when I mixed up a batch this time, I did not use the saltines, but added a 1/2 cup buttermilk powder instead. The flavor is still great. When I mixed up the dressing, just used milk instead of buttermilk since I had used the powder. This recipe is great for using in other recipes, meals that ask for a package of dry Hidden Valley. It's way cheaper & of course far healthier. Also, I use good Celtic sea salt & don't like to use the premade onion & garlic salts because the table salt in it is horrible. So I omitted the garlic & onion salts, and instead did the conversions needed to add an extra tablespoon of garlic & onion powder & the salt separately. I worked out great. I'm experimenting now w/ added a bit of guar gum which is a natural thickener to see if I can thicken it up. Then it will be perfect! Also, my next experiment will be to mix some up using greek yogurt instead of mayo to see how that tastes & see if I can make it a nice lite ranch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Used garlic and onion powders instead of garlic and onion salts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
ok the recipe is missing info. How much dry mix do you add to how much mayo or buttermilk? it needs to be finished dont you think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is way better than ranch packets and has no msg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This is Terrific! Simple and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I scaled this down to 50 servings, and I have some left for other recipes. I like keeping something like this in my pantry in little cleaned-out used jars (be sure to label them, though, because you DO forget!). The only thing I didn't have was onion salt, but I just added a touch of sea salt and that seemed to be just fine. I found it interesting that it called for saltines! I had no idea how that would work. We liked this a lot and will use it again! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
No more seasoning packets! I scaled the mix way back to 10. I want to try it out before I make a years supply. That produced about 2 packets worth of seasoning mix. I put half in a season jar and put in in the rack, and with the other half I made ranch dip. Also, I added about a tbsp of dry milk. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Season Cast Iron

See how to care for cast iron cookware so it lasts for years and years.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States