Dry Onion Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Very nice blend! I added dried chives for the heck of it and even though I didn't have any beef bouillon granules, the taste was really good! The dried onion I have seemed a little too large but worked just fine. If I make a bulk batch I would put the onion flakes, parsley and chives in a food processor and pulse a couple times so it doesn't separate when stored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I'll never buy onion soup mix again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This worked great in a roast that called for this mix! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
All I can say is WOW! If you like the name-brand onion soup mix out there, you are going to LOVE this recipe! I wouldn't even buy generic because I was picky and wanted the name-brand stuff. I decided to try this recipe because I'm tired of buying all of these mixes when I know I can make them better at home... which is this recipe! I used it for onion-roasted potatoes that usually calls for the packet of onion soup mix and not only did it taste so similar to what I was used to, it was actually even better! Because I'm not always a fan of the cooked dried onions, I ground this up in my coffee grinder so it was all a fine powder. I may do it this way from now on, it mixed a lot more evenly and the taste is outstanding. Thanks for a great recipe...I will never buy the name-brand mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Cant get any easier! Great recipe and I used no sodium beef boullion packets! So I was very happy about reducing all of that sodium that is usually in those Lipton packets. Used in a soup recipe that I found on Pinterest.....very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Thank You! I learned something new today and used this for my Amazing Pork Tenderloin - ya'll need to check out that recipe too. Thanks everyone for helping me make a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fairchildbecca

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Perfect !! I used this to make Sweet and Sour Zucchini from this site and was very pleased with the result. This is a keeper !! Thank you so much, faye522
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I had everything on hand for my recipe except for onion soup mix. I used your version and it came out great! What I liked especially was that I could substitute sodium free beef bouillon. The store bought onion soup packets have more sodium than we should be eating in a week! Thanks for this great and less expensive alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I used this recipe at Thanksgiving. I thought I had purchased the soup mix for dip but am so glad I didn't now! This will be my go to for French Onion Dip. I love that I can get all the flavor I want without all the unwanted, unneeded salt. It is also nice because I usually have all the ingredients on hand so it can be a last minute option if I want. Thanks so much. The whole family enjoyed your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States