Dry Onion Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I was saddened to learn that due to gluten allergies I could no longer enjoy my favorite California Dip, which everyone knows is just Lipton onion soup dip. There isn't another brand that comes close for superb onion dip. I'd rather pass than eat another. So I was skeptical, but decided to make this anyway, thinking it might be good enough. Well, it wasn't good enough. It was spot on, exactly the flavor of Lipton. Perfect as is, nothing to add or delete. I'm a very happy camper! I'm off to search for recipes that call for onion soup mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
What could be more simple than this? I added this to a can of beer with some garlic and crushed red pepper flakes. I let a roast simmer until tender and sliced it thin for sandwiches. I skip the bullion due to DH's sodium restrictions and truly don't notice its absence. For dips I do add it and DH just has to be careful - this is good stuff! :) Great recipe to have on hand so I made up several little bags for my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is such an awesome recipe! I really love this and no preservatives and other junk like the packages! thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Be sure to use low-sodium bouillon granules. If you cannot find them, make the mix without bouillon granules and substitute low-sodium beef broth for any liquid in the recipe you are using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buckley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Excellent! Tastes just like Liptons Onion Soup Mix. I prepare individual packages of the mix by placing the mix in snack-sized ziploc baggies. And when a recipe calls for an envelope of onion soup I simply grab one of the zip loc bags. And by the way, I reuse the baggies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Fantastical! I used to use the boxed stuff to make burgers and roasted potatoes and tons of other stuff, but it has barley in it! Thanks for a gluten, preservative, and artificial flavoring free alternative that tastes just as good and is WAY cheaper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe and the onion soup mix recipe (also from this site) are great substitutions for the store bought pre-packaged high sodium ones. When possible, I will make my own seasoning mixes. I am always looking for reduced sodium recipes that also have flavor for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This one makes me do the happy food dance!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grpa
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I tried two different dry onion soup mix recipes (we are gluten free so we can no longer use Lipton's as it has added in barley); this one was far superior to the other we tried (which actually called for a small amount of white sugar...) and we prefer this to Lipton's; it has more flavor! We use 1/4 cup to equal one env. of Liptons. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Very nice blend! I added dried chives for the heck of it and even though I didn't have any beef bouillon granules, the taste was really good! The dried onion I have seemed a little too large but worked just fine. If I make a bulk batch I would put the onion flakes, parsley and chives in a food processor and pulse a couple times so it doesn't separate when stored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States