Dry Onion Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Thank you! This was just what I needed for a vegetarian meatloaf recipe. To suit the recipe, I subbed 1 T. vegetarian Better Than Bouillon for the beef variety specified and celery salt for seed because it was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I was saddened to learn that due to gluten allergies I could no longer enjoy my favorite California Dip, which everyone knows is just Lipton onion soup dip. There isn't another brand that comes close for superb onion dip. I'd rather pass than eat another. So I was skeptical, but decided to make this anyway, thinking it might be good enough. Well, it wasn't good enough. It was spot on, exactly the flavor of Lipton. Perfect as is, nothing to add or delete. I'm a very happy camper! I'm off to search for recipes that call for onion soup mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I'm vegetarian so I added veggie broth to this. I used it in a recipe and the recipe turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Wow, how to cut the cost of a meal effortlessly! This mix seems to add the same flavor to cooked foods and it costs a fraction of the store mix. I sent this to all my kids. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Excellent! Tastes just like Liptons Onion Soup Mix. I prepare individual packages of the mix by placing the mix in snack-sized ziploc baggies. And when a recipe calls for an envelope of onion soup I simply grab one of the zip loc bags. And by the way, I reuse the baggies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Fantastic! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Our need for a gluten free diet means a lot of meal 'helpers' like store bought dry onion soup mix can't be used. This recipe is a great replacement for the blue box store brand. I've made up a bulk batch and use it frequently! Thanks faye522! you've helped add back some of our favorite comfort foods to our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Fantastical! I used to use the boxed stuff to make burgers and roasted potatoes and tons of other stuff, but it has barley in it! Thanks for a gluten, preservative, and artificial flavoring free alternative that tastes just as good and is WAY cheaper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
What could be more simple than this? I added this to a can of beer with some garlic and crushed red pepper flakes. I let a roast simmer until tender and sliced it thin for sandwiches. I skip the bullion due to DH's sodium restrictions and truly don't notice its absence. For dips I do add it and DH just has to be careful - this is good stuff! :) Great recipe to have on hand so I made up several little bags for my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Used this for my pot roast slowcooker recipe from this site and I substituted beef paste in the jar for the bouillon, it was a wonderful mix :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoonerFan1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States