Dry Buttermilk Ranch Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
First time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly. But I felt like the celery flakes or dill was too overpowering. Next time I made it, I omitted both of those ingredients, and I added black pepper because I love black pepper. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
this works with mayo too. Also for dips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I would love to whip up a quick delicious ranch dressing for my kids, however, I was disappointed. The amount of milk is too much, normally I would have added it a little at a time but this time I made it as directed. I also used light mayo which is another reason that it was runny. The flavor was ok, but watch the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is GREAT! I didn't have the buttermilk powder nor paprika so I left those out. (I added buttermilk to the mix when I used the spice mix) I did narrow it to 10 servings which equaled a little less than 2 packs of the store bought. OH! And I doubled the dill. Will absolutely be my go to recipe! THANK YOU so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Excellent! Whizzed all in a coffee grinder (one assigned to spices only). Mixed 2 heaping teaspoons with sour cream and mayo to make yummy dip for veggies and chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I used 2 tsp onion powder as thats what I had on hand and I also toned down the garlic too. Very good. My go-to recipe now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snickers9584

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I add 1/8 o f a teaspoon of balsamic vinegar (I use red and it doesn't change the color) to add a tang to each batch. My batch is 1 Tbls of mix to 1/3 C of light mayo and 1/3 cup of 1% milk. I've also done 1/2 fat-free Greek yogurt and half mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I wanted to love this..I really did, but just did not. It just didn't taste like ranch to me. It was bland. I admit, I did not have any chives, so I added just a bit more onion, but other than that followed the recipe to a tee. It just didn't have much flavor. I really think it needs much more salt. I had another recipe for this that uses crushed saltines, and I really liked the idea of using the buttermilk powder instead. The other recipe tastes like Hidden Valley to a tee, so I just made it with substituting the buttermilk powder for the saltines. It has a great flavor, just waiting to see if it will thicken up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
perfect! just what I was looking for, I suggest adding the mayo and milk slowly alternating until you get the consistancy you like best. The addition of papkrika is great. You can mix up the ingrediants as you see fit, but keeping the garlic, and dill at a minimum is key to not overwhelming the other flavours. I have tried a lot of ranch recipes using buttermilk powder and this hands down is the best I have found yet! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Thought that I should have rated this since I have been using for 6 months now. I just love this Ranch Mix.....Use to make chip dip, use in mashed potatoes and use in a soup recipe that calls for ranch dip. I keep plenty on hand for whenever a recipe might call for it. This mix is great.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

All about Buttermilk

Discover the secrets to buttermilk’s success in baking, marinating, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States