Drunken Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
best mussels recipe i ever made !!!!!!!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Excellent! We couldn't stop mopping up the broth with our crusty bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I changed this one just a bit and it turned out awesome. Used beer instead of wine and added some heavy cream. It was a hit at our last dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was a big winner with everyone. I had 3 pounds of mussels. We subbed beer for the wine, used a tablespoon of crushed red pepper (we like 'em hot!) and since we were having clams as well we wanted this to be a red sauce. I added a 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes and doubled the butter. I let the sauce cook a bit to thicken and then added the mussels. So good! Loved the sauce over some linguine. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This recipe was great! It made me look like a master cook without much experience. It looked beautiful, but I did have a hard time getting all the mussels to open (may have been the quality of the mussels). I used my boyfriend and my favorite wine, which is a sweet white and what we had on hand, I will not do that again! it was way too sweet and fruity. dry white or beer next time, but I will definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Loved it! Thank you! Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I picked up 2 pounds of PEI mussels the other day and had no idea what to do with them. So I searched my go to site and found this recipe, all I can say is fabulous!!! A little too much heat for me so I will reduce the red pepper flakes next time. I think trying this with red winw would be great too. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticatedGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
We enjoyed these mussels, and a pound per person worked out perfectly, too. Next time, I will add more butter to the dipping sauce, but that's just a personal taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Super easy to make. I added shallots and would definitely add them again but great without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I squeezed lemon juice in there as well.. I used moscato wine cause it was all I had at the time and it was actually very good with it. This recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States