Drunken Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Simply superb! I decreased the amount of white wine (1.5 cups) and added a large splash of heavy cream (about 1 Tbsp). Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly as written. As someone who really loves mussels and who has made them many times in a variety of ways... I can say that this is my new favorite recipe for them. I made 'em especially for my elderly father, who really enjoyed dipping his crusty bread into the amazing sauce. Many thanks to Chef John for yet another splendid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is an excellent base recipe - so many things that you can do to tweak! For the second attempt, I made some adjustments (in order of addition to the pot: More butter (not much - though more butter is always best), More garlic, about 2 medium chopped leeks (they were in the fridge getting sad from the farmer's market 3 weeks ago), a huge tomato roughly chopped (again, from the farmer's market last week. Poor dear was getting squishy - oh well, cut off the weird stuff and use the rest! I tasted first, it was divine), added 1/2 pound of fresh shrimp with shells still on - backs cut with scissors to make for easy peeling later but not de-veined, 3/4 of a medium summer squash- diced into 1/2 in cubes (this might've been too small, oh well), about 1/2 of the wine replaced with distilled water, I didn't have parsley but I had a ton of sorrel (again, starting to get sad. We tend to play favorites with vegetables, running out of kale but never eating the other greens!) so I took about 3/4 of a big bundle and roughly sliced across to make ribbons. Dropped some in at the end - got a bit brown and strange looking but added a wonderful toothy brightness to vegetable bites that lemon couldn't capture alone. The result? Fantastic! A medley of bright vegetables in a light, mildly tomato sauce. I meant to add cream but forgot! It was still delectable. Must be served with a big bowl for shells (both mussel and shrimp). What to do with the shells? Bury them in the yard, I suppose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
We love this dish when we eat out and other attempts to make it at home failed, until this recipe. Better than any restaurant and it was so very easy. It will be a regular on the home menu and entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Wonderful... first time cooking mussels.. we loved them. Added a little more red pepper flakes. Our new favorite seafood recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
The lemon zest over powered this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Added minced shallot with garlic. Used Savignon Blanc. Came out fantastic! Next time I might try adding heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by genechristopher
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Delicious! A little more sweet than I wanted. Perhaps I will try something other than a Chardonnay next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genechristopher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Didn't change a thing. Absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I added mushroom and onion to the broth to add a little bit more flavor as well as linguini. I cooked the linguini until it was almost cooked, strained it, and add it to the broth to continue cooking. After the mussels were open I took them out and added the pasta to the broth. Then, I took most of the mussels out of the shells and added it to the pasta and broth once that was cooked. Added lemon and pepper a once it was cooked. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvyezika
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I love mussels and decided to try cooking it. I tweaked the ingredients and added more flavor. I added 4 tbl spoon of butter, 2 cups of dry white wine, red crushed peppers, 1 cup of tomato puree, red sliced onions, 1 whole sliced sweet bell red peppers, 4-5 sprigs of thyme, 1 cup of chopped fresh parsley, 2 cloves of minced garlic, 2 bags of cooked shrimp, and 3 lbs of debeard mussels. I had the onions, garlic, peppers, thyme, parsley, and 3 tlb spoons of butter simmer n caramelize first. Then I added my homemade seasonings,pepper and the crushed peppers until all the ingredients were blended. Then I added the wine and left it cooking for about 2 min and then added the tomato puree. I left that cook for 2 more min then I added shrimps and the mussels. I added 1 table spoon of butter and covered it. I only uncovered it to stir the mussels. I cooked it until the mussels opened and the shrimp were cooked. It taste so good. I think if I would have used the original recipe alone, without adding my zest then it wouldn't have tasted as good. The broth was spicy n amazing. We all had the garlic bread dipped in the broth. I also cooked bow tie pasta (al dente) and added the broth to it and it was a winning dish in my house. Spent about $50 it fed four people and had left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States