Drunken Grilled Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Tasty. I dumped the marinade, asparagus, and all into heavy duty foil shaped like a makeshift square pan...and placed on the grill. I like my asparagus REALLY done, nearly burnt, so I cooked for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I gave this four stars because I threw some chicken breasts in with the asparagus and the marinade produced the most tender chicken breast that my husband has EVER grilled, which says alot because he always overcooks chicken (especially when he's grilling). I could have taken or left it on the asparagus, & I love asparagus (it was just kinda too sweet), but worked well with the chicken, thanks Denyse, my 11 year old ate 2 chicken breasts...RARE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
We love asparagus and this was good. It's a little too cold and snowy outside to grill, so we just used our grill pan. They came out great. I've never even thought of grilling asparagus Denyse, so thanks for "enlightening" me! Michelle, the I.M. is the Instant Messenger, nothing to do with e-mail. The kids are on it all the time. Know what we're talking about?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
YUMMY!!! Now this was delicious and addicting! I used some cheap bottle of savongon blanc and it sitll tasted great. Instead of bbqing it, I used an indoor grill for abotu 10 minutes or so, mmm. I think i'm going to buy lots more thin asparagus and make this many more times. My new favorite asparagus recipe!! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Fabulous. I was leery to try this recipe. It looked like a distaster. I am glad I didn't let this one pass me by. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
I thought this was great! I just started trying asparagus and this is definately a "keeper"! I used a good merlot and we were eating them right off the grill - no need for plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I was very disappointed...marinating the asparagus didn't add any additional flavor that I could tell. The tips of the asparagus burned before the stalks were done even those these were really skinny stalks. Perhaps grilling them on foil, so you could add the marinade while they cooked would be better. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Very good but it's lots more work for no real reason. Just use some olive oil and some fresh garlic, let sit for a few minutes then use a veggie grill basket and toss on the grill. cook to desired doneness. Much easier and basically the same delicious results. the wine and brown mustard added very little additional flavor to the process in my opinion. It was good, just not so much better than just olive oil and fresh garlic to be worth the trouble of extra ingredients and the 2 hour marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcb62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it was ok.....I love asparagus but for some reason this didn't trip my trigger. The flavor of the red wine seems odd with the asparagus. A white wine might have been better for me than the red. Liked the idea...may try again with a white wine and dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
This is a great way to cook asparagus! I used white wine and the result was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Asparagus

Make the perfect spring side dish with grilled asparagus.

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States