Drunken Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I just tried this recipe. I broiled the Hot dogs. I warmed the beer and the brown sugar on the stove. Placed the hotdogs up kind of chunky. Added them to the brown sugar and beer mixture. Simmered for 55 minutes. Turned on the high the last five minutes. Did not add cornstarch. Cooked on high the last five minutesto thicken it. Turned into a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
As other reviewers have indicated, if you want any thickness to the sauce, you must add corn starch. I cooked the dogs on high in my slow cooker for at least two hours, maybe three, and the sauce still had not thickened, so I broke down and added the corn starch. I used the big Fairbury Brand dogs, the kind sold at Nebraska games, which are easily the best mass produced dogs around. I used a bottle of Blue Moon, which provided a exceptionally rich taste experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Koriekiss
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were actually a huge hit with our friends. We did follow others suggestions and thickened the sauce with some corn starch at the end. I might even next time pop them in the oven for a few minutes to carmelize some of the sauce. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Been making these now for at least 6 years and always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica_Farr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olean, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I served this to my Bunko group. I really liked them a lot and two people commented they really liked them..however, I still had over half left at the end of the night. I used Ballpark as that is the hot dogs my family likes, but they really plumped up so had to double the sauce. I might make these again, but I'll use regular size dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I normally follow the recipes to a T the first time I make them but this time I added a few things to spice it up a bit. I also added a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I used a dark stout and added chopped onion, fresh minced garlic and some low sodium soy sauce. The result was DELICIOUS! I'll be serving this at the next Superbowl party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlpicanso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was terrific and oh so easy! I used cocktail smokies and they split lenghtwise, probably because I let the liquid boil too much. I will be more cautious next time. To thicken the sauce, I let it simmer uncovered for about 15 min. It turned nice and sirupy, yum! Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
So yummy and so easy to make! These drunken dogs were such a hit that they have been requested over and over again. I did add a bit of asian sauce to give it an extra layer of flavor and it made the sauce a bit thicker! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
not bad but coctail weiners were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Recipe was great! These hotdogs were a huge hit, and they were gone before I knew it. Next time I will need to make more. I did add a little corn starch to thicken the sauce because it was kind of runny but after that they were to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States