Drunken Camper Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Interesting. Made this for the holiday. Had a zip to it. Will try to make again when we use the grill. We put this under the broiler. We cooked this a little too long. Rare or Med Rare is probably better. Will rate again after we try grilling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This recipe will do in a pinch if you all have is Vodka and Tequilla. The tequilla soaks in well and provides a nice flavor to compliment the teriaki. However, the vodka doesn't add much. Vodka, if you use a decent one, doesn't have any flavor. Since the alcohol is cooked out, it is just a filler. Instead, try using whiskey. It provides a rich, hearty flavor that I'm sure campers and grillers alike can enjoy. Otherwise a very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
I left out the vodka - mainly because what I had on hand was vanilla flavored. I used the marinade on some flank steak and let it sit for a couple of hours in the fridge. It turned out great. The tequila gave it a nice earthy flavor, intensifying the steak's meatiness. The other ingredients seemed like a strange mix, but the result was complex and slightly exotic without straying to weirdness. Definitely repeat-worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
I also did not use vodka, just tequila, teriyaki sauce, steak sauce, a little sesame oil, and garlic. Since vodka does not have any taste, I didn't see what that would bring to the marinade. I used flank steak and marinated for 48 hours. It was good, but a little heavy on the teriyaki. Next time, I will use much less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. It smells pretty potent and boy does it ever make a juicy and flavorful steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom to Triplets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I agree with the others regarding the vodka - it isn't needed. This was EXCELLENT, and a great way to use up some of the cheaper Tequlia we had around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
this was a recipe that I would not normally have chosen,but I did not have everything for some of the other marinades,so I went outside my box.Suprise!! it was really good.Will use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I followed all fellow reviewers recommendations to leave out the vodka since there was no point. My only hesitation was whether or not I needed a filler in it's place, but I chose not to. I stuck by the recipe exactly except for the vodka. The teriyaki/steak sauce/lemon juice mixture was quite good, but I was surprisingly not a big fan of the tequila. The only thing it did to the marinade was give it a very bitter aftertaste. It wasn't horrible, but I ended up dipping the rest of my meat in additional steak sauce just t eliminate the bitterness. If I made this again, I would definitely leave out the tequila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States