Drunken Camper Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Interesting. Made this for the holiday. Had a zip to it. Will try to make again when we use the grill. We put this under the broiler. We cooked this a little too long. Rare or Med Rare is probably better. Will rate again after we try grilling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This recipe will do in a pinch if you all have is Vodka and Tequilla. The tequilla soaks in well and provides a nice flavor to compliment the teriaki. However, the vodka doesn't add much. Vodka, if you use a decent one, doesn't have any flavor. Since the alcohol is cooked out, it is just a filler. Instead, try using whiskey. It provides a rich, hearty flavor that I'm sure campers and grillers alike can enjoy. Otherwise a very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
I left out the vodka - mainly because what I had on hand was vanilla flavored. I used the marinade on some flank steak and let it sit for a couple of hours in the fridge. It turned out great. The tequila gave it a nice earthy flavor, intensifying the steak's meatiness. The other ingredients seemed like a strange mix, but the result was complex and slightly exotic without straying to weirdness. Definitely repeat-worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
I also did not use vodka, just tequila, teriyaki sauce, steak sauce, a little sesame oil, and garlic. Since vodka does not have any taste, I didn't see what that would bring to the marinade. I used flank steak and marinated for 48 hours. It was good, but a little heavy on the teriyaki. Next time, I will use much less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. It smells pretty potent and boy does it ever make a juicy and flavorful steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom to Triplets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I agree with the others regarding the vodka - it isn't needed. This was EXCELLENT, and a great way to use up some of the cheaper Tequlia we had around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
this was a recipe that I would not normally have chosen,but I did not have everything for some of the other marinades,so I went outside my box.Suprise!! it was really good.Will use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I followed all fellow reviewers recommendations to leave out the vodka since there was no point. My only hesitation was whether or not I needed a filler in it's place, but I chose not to. I stuck by the recipe exactly except for the vodka. The teriyaki/steak sauce/lemon juice mixture was quite good, but I was surprisingly not a big fan of the tequila. The only thing it did to the marinade was give it a very bitter aftertaste. It wasn't horrible, but I ended up dipping the rest of my meat in additional steak sauce just t eliminate the bitterness. If I made this again, I would definitely leave out the tequila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States