Drunk Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
I use less whiskey and add 2-1lb. packages of cocktail wieners to the sauce--eveyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
Have made these using 3/4 cup whiskey, then they were simmered in the crockpot for about an hour! the additional whiskey makes a wonderful difference! They are yummy!!! It also helps to use 2 lbs. of little smokies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
This is the only cocktail weinie recipe that I really like. I got it about 20 years ago from (get this) "The White Trash Cookbook," which was written partly as a joke, and partly because it had some good recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I was looking for a recipe that was close to my Mom's and this was it...I added an extra 1/2 cup of bourbon as well as 1/2 cup of BBQ sauce and let it simmer for a few hours on low. I also HIGHLY recommend trying it with kielbasa cut into chunks....I put both kielbasa and cocktail wieners in... It was a smashing success! The best part was that even when the meat got low, I was able to add another package and let it simmer for an hour or so to replenish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Everyone enjoyed "Drunk Dogs". I agree that 1/4 cup of whiskey is better than recipe amount given. As suggested I used Jack Daniels. I tried to find little brats (my husband is a cheesehead from Wisc) but not in any stores around my home so got two pkgs of Little Smokies. Only put 1-lb in the slow cooker. Next time will do 2-lbs at outset as there is indeed enough sauce and people won't be disappointed when they go back for more and the Smokies are all gone. I've prepared other similar recipes for potlucks but didn't really care for them personally. That's why I was looking for something better when I found this one. I have to admit it, I was one of those disappointed when I went to get a few more and they were gone. But then, these are so easy to prepare I can toss everything in the slow cooker for myself anytime I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
DELICIOUS! ADDED ANOTHER PACK OF THE LIL DOGS AND 1/4 CUP OF WHISKEY INSTEAD. IT WAS A FAVE TO EVERYONE. WILL MAKE AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Hot Diggity Dog Delicious. Huge hit at our party!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
This is one of the best BBQ sauces I have had in along time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I used this recipe as an appitizer at my X-mas party and everyone wanted it. They were a huge success. I am having a St. Patrick's day party and this is on the top of my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Reynolds Kincaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hardin, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
double the recipe and used little beef smokies - kept warm in a crockpot for 7 hours - serve with wooden skewers - easier than tooth picks. I also added more Jack Daniels as others suggested - very good and I don't normally care for sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States