Drunk Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
Have made these using 3/4 cup whiskey, then they were simmered in the crockpot for about an hour! the additional whiskey makes a wonderful difference! They are yummy!!! It also helps to use 2 lbs. of little smokies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
These are great little appetizers. I use a bit more whisky and brown sugar, with the same amount of ketchup and you can taste the different flavors a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANTABIROSTRIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
I think the "kid friendly" rating shouldn't be averaged in because it pulls down the average unfairly! Not everything needs to be for kids. I didn't have ketchup - used what I had, which was 6 oz. of chili sauce. This made PLENTY of sauce for a pound of lil smokies -- the full recipe would surely be enough for 4 pounds of sausages! I love easy recipes, which this certainly is. And tasty! Larger amount (full bottle of ketchup, more sausages) could be done in a crock pot for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
These were fun. I added a bottle of beer, a splash of brandy, some maple syrup, chopped red onion, dash of Worcestershire, and some crumbled bacon. Cooked on med-high in uncovered slow cooker for about 4 hours until mixture was thick and syrup-py!! BIG YUM! They went quick. Served with homemade bread. Had extra sauce leftover, which I froze and will use to marinate and baste some barbecued chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
A party favorite around my house. Try this recipe with little smokies instead of hotdogs! Super yummy!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
YUM! Of course the day that I want to make these, the store is offering rain checks for the lil smokies. Sooo, I found Johnsonville little "brat bites". Worked great (maybe better). I used only a 16 oz. bottle of ketchup for 2 lbs. of the "brats" (I thought the 28 oz. to be way to much), and I used about 1/2 cup of whisky. I also added about a tbsp of grape jelly & that seemed to take away the ketchup taste. I will use again, thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
This is the only cocktail weinie recipe that I really like. I got it about 20 years ago from (get this) "The White Trash Cookbook," which was written partly as a joke, and partly because it had some good recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
awesome, a huge hit at my church. I used 2lbs of little smokies instead of 1lb. coctail wieners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena2222

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
These are easy and great!!! The family loved them. You can't eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
I use less whiskey and add 2-1lb. packages of cocktail wieners to the sauce--eveyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States