Drunk Deer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
this chili is the best! made the real way... without beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Oh yeah - this was a winner. I loved the spicy and smooth flavor of the sauce. In fact mine was more saucy due to my not putting all the meat that it called for. I used venison sausage which was the ground meat with seasoning. Made it with a different type of pepper than the jalepeno and learned a big no-no. Cutting a pepper with bare hands is bad. Because even hours later, many hand washes & soaking my fingers in buttermilk didn't get rid of the sting. Then taking out your contacts later is even more painful. [I can laugh now, but it hurt at the time.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I made this for our Super Bowl party and everyone loved it! Most people had at least 2 bowls full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
One the the best chili recipes I've made...Used 3 lbs. of vension trimmed from 2 legs. Didn't have any jalapeno peppers so I used red pepper flakes. Had only my own canned tomatoes so used 1 qt. w/ juice. After 1 can of beer and the JD, I skipped the water as it seemed very liquidy. Also, since I cooked everything in a dutch oven, I put it in the oven at 425 for 1 1/2 hrs. This cooked the liquid down nicely.There was a special "twang" that stood out. Maybe the JD? Whatever it was, it made this recipe special. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Very good! It has all my favorite food groups; pork, beef, and venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
WOW!!! My husband said this is the best chili he ever had! The only changes I made to this recipe was to use chipotle pepper instead of the cayenne and to omit the water. I tasted it before adding the bourbon and it was just OK, the bourbon just adds complexity to the chili; don't leave it out. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Can we say yummy? This is the BEST chili I have ever eaten! I have been using ALLRECIPES for years and never written a review....this was worth the review. I have been making this chili since it has been posted and will continue to use it. I make NO substitutions.....A++++!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was fantastic! The only thing I did different was to omit the water. The only liquids used were the beer and bourbon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This lack flavor, salt, and wasn't all that unique. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. I didn't have any deer meat, so substituted hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wohletz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States