Drunk Deer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
this chili is the best! made the real way... without beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Oh yeah - this was a winner. I loved the spicy and smooth flavor of the sauce. In fact mine was more saucy due to my not putting all the meat that it called for. I used venison sausage which was the ground meat with seasoning. Made it with a different type of pepper than the jalepeno and learned a big no-no. Cutting a pepper with bare hands is bad. Because even hours later, many hand washes & soaking my fingers in buttermilk didn't get rid of the sting. Then taking out your contacts later is even more painful. [I can laugh now, but it hurt at the time.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I made this for our Super Bowl party and everyone loved it! Most people had at least 2 bowls full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
One the the best chili recipes I've made...Used 3 lbs. of vension trimmed from 2 legs. Didn't have any jalapeno peppers so I used red pepper flakes. Had only my own canned tomatoes so used 1 qt. w/ juice. After 1 can of beer and the JD, I skipped the water as it seemed very liquidy. Also, since I cooked everything in a dutch oven, I put it in the oven at 425 for 1 1/2 hrs. This cooked the liquid down nicely.There was a special "twang" that stood out. Maybe the JD? Whatever it was, it made this recipe special. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Very good! It has all my favorite food groups; pork, beef, and venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
WOW!!! My husband said this is the best chili he ever had! The only changes I made to this recipe was to use chipotle pepper instead of the cayenne and to omit the water. I tasted it before adding the bourbon and it was just OK, the bourbon just adds complexity to the chili; don't leave it out. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Can we say yummy? This is the BEST chili I have ever eaten! I have been using ALLRECIPES for years and never written a review....this was worth the review. I have been making this chili since it has been posted and will continue to use it. I make NO substitutions.....A++++!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was fantastic! The only thing I did different was to omit the water. The only liquids used were the beer and bourbon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This lack flavor, salt, and wasn't all that unique. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. I didn't have any deer meat, so substituted hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wohletz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States