Drunk Deer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
My husband scoffed at a no-bean chili. He is now on his third bowl. Couldn't be a more simple recipe. I only changed these things: I did not add the water and I used porter instead of pilsner. Also, I couldn't find pork stew meat at the store so I used the same amount of boneless pork filets, cut to bite sized pieces. Excellent flavor, this is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was delicious. I didn't have the pork but it was fine with just the beef stew meat and ground venison. The pepper I used was an anaheim pepper which gave it a very subtle warmth. This was a very smooth chili and just what we needed on a cold winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is the best chili I have ever had! I have made it with the deer meat but mostly I sub ground beef because I rarely have it. It's fantastic either way. I would recommend omitting the water. I never add it and it's nice and thick. The beer & bourbon are the secret to the wonderful flavor, don't leave it out! I serve it with cornbread muffins, shredded cheese & sour cream but it's great all by itself. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Day Smith
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Yummy! Added a green pepper and pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Day Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was Fantastic! The flavors melded together perfectly. The only changes I made was to omit the water and I simmered it for 2 hours instead of one to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Incredible the first day and as left overs from the freezer. My family loves this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Huston

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This chili is great! I made mine a little spicier and added beans, but otherwise did as it called for. LOVE it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Hands down dis is a over no 1 winner.... Never waz. Never will be a chili az good as dis un,,,,we juz use field peas & peppers instead. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
So so so so GOOD! Even friends who do not enjoy deer LOVED this chili. Took a crock pot full into work and it was literally empty within 10 minutes. Husband is already asking me to make it again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was great! I added kidney beans and everyone wanted the recipe. I can't wait to make it again. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howard, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States