Drumsticks with Peach and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I used a 14 oz can of peaches, and even added a small amount of the syrup. It stretched the sauce out, which was great, as the sauce on rice was very good. Would add some spice (cayenne?) next time for zip, but otherwise a tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I made a whole lot of changes to this recipe and was really pleased with the result. I used 1/2 tsp lemon juice instead of a lemon (added with the water) and halved 8 ripe apricots instead of the peach. I also changed the cooking method, after browning the chicken, I put it in a dish in a medium oven whilst I made the sauce, according to the recipe, up to addding the water when I also added the apricots. All this warm sauce was poured over the browned drumsticks and baked for around half an hour. The sauce thickened in the oven so I didn't use any cornflour. The chicken was so juicy and the flavor beautifully ballanced, not too much of any one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Very good, though it had more of a honey-lemon than peach flavour. I added a tablespoon of cornstarch instead of a teaspoon and liked the consistency of the sauce that I got. The peaches we had on hand were pretty small so I used two instead of one. When I reheated the leftovers on the stove the next day, I cooked a little extra sauce and added more peach since we had eaten most of the fruit when we ate the dish fresh. This brought out the peach flavour nicely. Thanks for a great recipe! I will be making this again. Edit: The second time I made this I used 2 regular sized peaches - I was glad I did. They were not overpowering but gave a nice flavour. I put in 1 tsp of cornstarch, like the recipe calls for. I found the sauce very runny and will be sure to use 1 Tbsp in the future. Even though the sauce didn't thicken like I hoped it would, we still really enjoyed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Made recipe exactly as written, It was wonderful! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clayton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Really good. I would make with chicken thighs the next time, so you don't have to work around the bone. I also used canned peaches and would add more peaches next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Instead of using drumsticks I cut breasts into strips. I also followed another suggestion and used a Tbsp of cornstarch instead of a tsp. I served it over white rice and my husband loved it! Even better as leftovers after reheating. I think next time I'll try dicing the chicken after browning the strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hnyb_dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cibolo, Texas, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
It was delicious, but next time I will use much less lemon (one or two slices), because lemon covered the aroma of honey and peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
just OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I get tired of BBQ drumsticks -- this was a great change! My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwulleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Maine, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This recipe is "just okay" as another reviewer aptly put it. Nothing to brag about, it's not delightfully infused with this delicious peachy taste... maybe if you double the peaches and the honey and marinate everything a really long time... I don't think I'll be making this one again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States