Drumsticks with Peach and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by teffy
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I gave this a 4 because we liked it, but weren't 'wowed' by it as I had hoped. I doubled it since I was making twice as many drumsticks than in the recipe. Since we're in Canada, fresh peaches are not possible in February so I used two cans of sliced peaches and used the sauce in the cornstarch and water mix. I did use more cornstarch as was suggested by others. I really liked the peaches and honey taste (I used more honey). However, if I was to make this again, I think I would skip the onions and garlic all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Really good. I would make with chicken thighs the next time, so you don't have to work around the bone. I also used canned peaches and would add more peaches next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This recipe is "just okay" as another reviewer aptly put it. Nothing to brag about, it's not delightfully infused with this delicious peachy taste... maybe if you double the peaches and the honey and marinate everything a really long time... I don't think I'll be making this one again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
just OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Instead of using drumsticks I cut breasts into strips. I also followed another suggestion and used a Tbsp of cornstarch instead of a tsp. I served it over white rice and my husband loved it! Even better as leftovers after reheating. I think next time I'll try dicing the chicken after browning the strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hnyb_dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cibolo, Texas, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Very good, though it had more of a honey-lemon than peach flavour. I added a tablespoon of cornstarch instead of a teaspoon and liked the consistency of the sauce that I got. The peaches we had on hand were pretty small so I used two instead of one. When I reheated the leftovers on the stove the next day, I cooked a little extra sauce and added more peach since we had eaten most of the fruit when we ate the dish fresh. This brought out the peach flavour nicely. Thanks for a great recipe! I will be making this again. Edit: The second time I made this I used 2 regular sized peaches - I was glad I did. They were not overpowering but gave a nice flavour. I put in 1 tsp of cornstarch, like the recipe calls for. I found the sauce very runny and will be sure to use 1 Tbsp in the future. Even though the sauce didn't thicken like I hoped it would, we still really enjoyed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This recipe was super easy and delicious. I served it over rice, which was great. I used canned peaches as well, which was fine and the syrup added to the sauce. I used a bit more cornstarch though, to thicken the sauce up. Great dish - even my toddler loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
We didn't care much for this recipe. Of course, I didn't have ginger or the lemon (hubby doesn't like them anyway), so maybe that's the problem. Also, the garlic at that heat got burnt. Still, it had a wierd combo of flavors for our liking. Hubby and the kids wouldn't even touch the peaches because they said the sauce made them taste wierd. Also, I found eating drumsticks through such a sticky sauce messy and tedious. I really wanted to like this, but didn't really. Unfortunately, I won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
It was delicious, but next time I will use much less lemon (one or two slices), because lemon covered the aroma of honey and peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Tastes great and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States