Drumsticks with Peach and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This was pretty tasty! After salting and peppering the drumsticks to taste, I increased all of the flavor components by about double based on some people saying it was bland, and I used chicken broth instead of water. I did two Tbsps. of cornstarch as someone else recommended. I also did what some others suggested and put fewer lemon slices after first juicing them into the sauce (about half a lemon), but it would probably be good the other way too. I followed the cooking method mostly as written (I did add the garlic later with the onion step) and the drumsticks came out tender and delicious. I used fresh peaches and did four instead of just one so there was lots of fruit. Overall, it mixed the flavors of tangy, sweet peaches and a mild Asian ginger sauce, and it all tasted great over rice. Wasn't too hard, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
is good but it needs more flavor , next time ill use peach nectar , the garlic gets burn and it is not a nice flavor , ill brown the chicken and then ill add the garlic . i also think it can use a little big of brown sugar .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I followed the instructions to the letter and needed more cook time. I use a gas stove and it cooks slower than others I've had. I left it in for 1 1/2 hours and they were tender and tasted great. Next time I'm going to jam to the recipe for some sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
very very tasty. thank you for the recipe :) * easy helpful subs: worchest. sauce for soy and canned drained peaches for fresh if you lack the other*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIMOOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Yum! Made this tonight and it was a huge hit, even with the kids! I did use light canned peaches, and added just a little bit of the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I made this almost exactly as written, except I used "peach honey" instead of honey and peaches. I also used stock instead of water. So I guess not exactly as written. Very flavorful. Officially in the dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Absolutely delicious, the smells of it just cooking had all of us starving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeFrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Thanks for posting this recipe! I have to say: my rating is for what I made -- which was not this exact dish, but one inspired by it. Had to make variations allowing for what our freezer/pantry held, but this was a forgiving recipe. Used 4 drumsticks and 2 bone/skinless thighs. Subbed fresh grated ginger (which I sauteed at beginning w/ garlic and onions), and 1/2 lime thinly sliced. Used large can of pineapples instead of peaches which seemed to go very well with the Asian flavors. Decided to broil the drumsticks for a few minutes while the sauce was simmering down, and I'm glad I did as it added a nice color and texture to the skin. Next time I'd marinate the chicken in the juice from the can of pineapples (plus a little soy sauce, and maybe garlic and ginger)...if I plan ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was very tasty. I used canned peaches because I didn't have any fresh. I think it worked out better because I added about half of the can both peaches and juice and the flavor came through wonderfuly. I didn't use any cornstarch to thicken the sauce since I put the whole pan in the oven to help cook the chicken. (Mine were still a little frozen when I started cooking.) I will be making this again. The chicken skin was glazed and crispy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Taste was not what I was expecting - somewhat bland. The chicken did come out moist. I don't think I'll be making this again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States