Drop Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2000
I have a hard time figuring out how the recipe made 3 dozen. The recipe did not specify the size of the final product and even after doubling the recipe, I had a hard time squeezing 3 dozen out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2000
This was an EXCELLENT recipe. Although there is no way on earth you can get 3 dozen out of it, these cookies were SOFT, MELT IN YOUR MOUTH, DELICIOUS, and took me only 20 minutes to prepare and BAKE! Perfect for on the go cookies. I rate this on a scale of 1 to 10, definnentely a 10. Keep up the good work, but watch the number you put in as a yield. --Josh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
This recipe was very easy. I had to adjust the amount of flour to 1 cup because the batter was too thin. All in all a very good cookie, my guests gave me compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
A very good cookie. If you like your butter cookies a little softer this is a good one. But, BEWARE! They will be gone quickly! I got it to make three dozen (well, 2 1/2 but the kids "licked" a lot of the batter) small cookies. I used a small spoonful to drop them onto the sheetl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
These were very, very good. And so easy to make! I ended up with about a dozen average sized cookies, but they'd make about three dozen cookies a bit bigger than a silver dollar like the butter cookies that come in a tin. They're good plain, or with a dollop of jam, or covered in sugar. Soft and yummy. Would reccomend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This didn't work for me. I didn't like the texture of this cookie. It spread out very thinly, and almost burnt on the edges while cakey in the middle. I tried turning the oven down to 350, and then tried chilling the dough to reduce spreading. Neither worked. This is not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
These cookies are a little different every time I make them. Sometimes they run and are skinny and flat and stick together, and sometimes they stay put and circular and are thicker, either way, they're almost always very good so long as I watch the cookies themselves and get them out as they've just turned golden brown. Tip: Try mixing it up by substituting different extracts. I've tried lemon, almond, and orange, and all add just a little bit different flavor. My mom loves the lemon, but I think almond is probably my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I also revised the recipie. I tried greasing the cookie sheet and the cookies burned around the edges. They also were too runny. Using a UNGREASED cookie sheet, dropping dough by rounded teaspoon fulls, and baking at 350 degrees for 7 minutes worked great! With Christmas time they were great with colored sugar sprinkles worked well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I, too had to add more flour as the cookies spread a lot in the first minute of baking. Maybe we just need to make the dropped spoonfuls smaller? I liked them okay, but my husband won't eat them. His favorite is oatmeal raisin, so go figure. I also added about a tablespoon of crunchy peanut butter to the last batch and they were quite yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gouverneur, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
The cookies were not the greatest!They were terribly runny and I needed to add about 1 cup more flour. the cookies were not the greatest!I wouln't make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States