Drop Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
these were terrific they melt in your mouth. My family like chocolate chip cookies so I add about 1 cup of the milk chocolat chips and cooked them the same way. Everyone loved them......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseanne Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
i added 1/4 vanilla and 1/4 almond extract and diced walnuts to this and it came out amazing. the plate was cleared and i was asked to make more within minuates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadow faye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I didn't care for these cookies at all. I made the recipe as directed. I scooped them onto an ungreased cookie shhet using a 1 tsp ice cream scooper and baked them for the stated 10 minutes at 400F. What started as a ball turned into a 1/4 tall very spread out blob with burned edges. After letting them cool 10 minutes I used a metal spatula (I tried one that will flex and one too thick to flex) but I was unable to remove the cookies from the cookie sheet without them falling apart. They are very bland and taste like raw flour. I will definately not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I also had to add more flour. I added crushed candy cane for Christmas, and it turned out yummy! Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as directed. I did not have problems with the batter being too thin as other people stated and I used a melon baller so I got 36 cookies out of the recipe. The problem was that the cookies don't taste good. Both my kids made faces. They described them as bland and flavorless. I used chocolate chips on one batch, raisins in the other. Neither were good. Bleck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I dunno what I did wrong (I followed the recipe exactly), but the bottoms of the cookies mostly burned for me? I wasn't sure how large the cookies should be-- you would only get 3 dozen if you dropped them by the 1/2 tsps. For the last batch, I baked the cookies for 7 minutes and they turned out okay. Lucky for me that I just made these for myself as a treat, but I don't know if I will make these cookies again. Thanks for the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coctilis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I made the dough and thought it was a bit buttery so I read the reviews. Boy I'm glad I did. I ended up using a full cup instead of 3/4 cup flour. (I used rum extract by the way.) Now as for the cookie being to thin...my first batch was fine but the cookies came out squarish and spread into each other. The SECOND batch I decided to make the drops smaller, say about 1 1/2 to 2 teaspoons. I also reduced the temperature to 375 and baked them for 12-14 minutes. That made a huge difference. They came out perfectly round and in my opinion, absolutely delicious! I will definitely be making more RIGHT NOW!!! PS- I didn't put any toppings on them but I will be trying chocolate chips in the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuddGurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Goshen, New York, USA
Photo by ParaKisu
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Awsome. My grandfather loved it. Sweet and soft. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
The cookies were not the greatest!They were terribly runny and I needed to add about 1 cup more flour. the cookies were not the greatest!I wouln't make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I, too had to add more flour as the cookies spread a lot in the first minute of baking. Maybe we just need to make the dropped spoonfuls smaller? I liked them okay, but my husband won't eat them. His favorite is oatmeal raisin, so go figure. I also added about a tablespoon of crunchy peanut butter to the last batch and they were quite yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gouverneur, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States