Drop Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2000
This was an EXCELLENT recipe. Although there is no way on earth you can get 3 dozen out of it, these cookies were SOFT, MELT IN YOUR MOUTH, DELICIOUS, and took me only 20 minutes to prepare and BAKE! Perfect for on the go cookies. I rate this on a scale of 1 to 10, definnentely a 10. Keep up the good work, but watch the number you put in as a yield. --Josh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
This recipe was very easy. I had to adjust the amount of flour to 1 cup because the batter was too thin. All in all a very good cookie, my guests gave me compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2000
I have a hard time figuring out how the recipe made 3 dozen. The recipe did not specify the size of the final product and even after doubling the recipe, I had a hard time squeezing 3 dozen out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I also revised the recipie. I tried greasing the cookie sheet and the cookies burned around the edges. They also were too runny. Using a UNGREASED cookie sheet, dropping dough by rounded teaspoon fulls, and baking at 350 degrees for 7 minutes worked great! With Christmas time they were great with colored sugar sprinkles worked well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I didn't care for these cookies at all. I made the recipe as directed. I scooped them onto an ungreased cookie shhet using a 1 tsp ice cream scooper and baked them for the stated 10 minutes at 400F. What started as a ball turned into a 1/4 tall very spread out blob with burned edges. After letting them cool 10 minutes I used a metal spatula (I tried one that will flex and one too thick to flex) but I was unable to remove the cookies from the cookie sheet without them falling apart. They are very bland and taste like raw flour. I will definately not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
A very good cookie. If you like your butter cookies a little softer this is a good one. But, BEWARE! They will be gone quickly! I got it to make three dozen (well, 2 1/2 but the kids "licked" a lot of the batter) small cookies. I used a small spoonful to drop them onto the sheetl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
These were very, very good. And so easy to make! I ended up with about a dozen average sized cookies, but they'd make about three dozen cookies a bit bigger than a silver dollar like the butter cookies that come in a tin. They're good plain, or with a dollop of jam, or covered in sugar. Soft and yummy. Would reccomend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
In fairness to the recipe owner, the original recipe is for 3 dozen cookies but you must set your own serving size to 36 servings to get ingredients for that much. I tried to do 2 dozen, without greasing the pan, at 375 degrees for 8 minutes since my gas oven cooks hot and fast. The bottoms and edges burned while the centers were under cooked. :( I used sprinkles for the topping. The 3 stars are for the yummy flavor of the few that cooked just right - very light and not too sweet! Would be yummy with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as directed. I did not have problems with the batter being too thin as other people stated and I used a melon baller so I got 36 cookies out of the recipe. The problem was that the cookies don't taste good. Both my kids made faces. They described them as bland and flavorless. I used chocolate chips on one batch, raisins in the other. Neither were good. Bleck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misty
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
just got through making these wonderful cookies absolutely yummy! made the recipes just as follows, but i did adjust the temp to 350 degrees for 7 minutes, come out beautiful. Made my hubby try one first, he said what the heck(lol they are very soft to the touch) when he tasted it he was amazed, it was good!! :) i do recommend this recipe and will be making it more in the near future...oh my 2 yr old daughter just came asking for morrraa! lol so i guess that does it :) oh yeah and very easy to make as well thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States