Drip Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
We really like this! Easy to make in a slow cooker. I like to spread horseradish on French bread, perhaps a few slices of munster cheese, layer on the beef, cut the sandwiches in 2-inch section,.... mmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I did not use the broth to dip my sandwiches in. Instead I poured bbq sauce over the shredded beef and served. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
The first day we ate this on fresh bread and it was good. There was a lot left though so we fried up onion, green pepper and mushrooms to top it on day two. Served on whole what rolls with cheez whiz melted on top it was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Italian drip beef sandwiches...Mmmmm. This was delicious. I cooked it all day and then refrigerated overnight. I scooped the grease from the top and then heated it a couple of hours the second day before shredding the meat. Oops! I missed the part about the coffee filter and cooked all the spices in with the meat...picked out the bay leaves and most of the peppercorns before shredding... this still turned out wonderful. It pretty much shredded itself. I cooked it another hour after adding the shredded meat back to the pot before serving. Thanks for posting this gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This came out really delicious, and I'm not one to rave about a piece of chuck roast. I had a much smaller roast (maybe 2 Lbs.) but I used the full amount of seasoning called for. I subbed 2 Tbsp. beef flavored Better than Boullion for the cubes, omitted the oregano (due to personal preferences)added a tsp. of McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning, a sprinkle of Accent and a few drops of worcestershire sauce. Didn't bother with the coffee filter idea... just added the seasonings to the water. In less than 4 hrs. we had incredibly tender, deliciously seasoned meat, with an excellent dipping broth that I was able to freeze in cubes for future use. (Bonus points!) Don't be afraid of the salt, this is a boiled piece of meat, and you really need it. We enjoyed ours on toasted subs with melted swiss cheese on top. I could also see myself preparing this with the oregano and other seasonings to use in Mexican dishes. Thanks for the recipe, Tammy. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I have made a recipe similar to this for years. Tip on leftovers.....really good on baked potatoes with sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
We really enjoyed this. I put it on a piece of fresh bakery bread then put a slice of provolone on top. I put it in a 400 degree oven to crisp up the bread and melt the cheese. I served the au jus on the side and it was a hit! All the salt in the recipe scared me, but it flavored it perfectly, not too salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Wonderful!! Easy and it doesn't last long!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I was worried about this being too salty from other reviews, so I substituted 2 cans of reduced-sodium beef broth, used garlic powder instead of garlic salt and added 1 1/2 tsp. salt. I could have probably used 1 T. salt, so I'll remember that for next time. This was so easy and it made the meat SO MOIST. It did not have a strong flavor but we still enjoyed it. Served on club rolls with horseradish and provolone - mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
The aroma was much stronger than the somewhat bland flavor. We enjoyed this much more when the leftovers were thickened with flour and mixed with a little sour cream, then topped over egg noodles. May have to make it again just for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States