Dried Cherry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBirman
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
So, so good! Everyone loves this cake. I've made it twice in the last month! I took a pic, but it went so quick there was only a slice left. Ha! So easy to make, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBirman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sbrownley
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I loved it and made it with Truvia instead of with sugar. Next time I'll add some cinnamon in the cake mix and Demerara and cinnamon for the topping ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I won't be making this again. The sour cherries didn't taste good with the cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I found this cake to be just wonderful. I discovered too late that I had run out of almond extract so used vanilla to soak the cherries and also added a bit more to the cake itself. I doubled the recipe so it would adequately fill a 9" round pound cake pan (with hole in middle). I also decided on impulse to chop up a large dark chocolate bar I snagged at Big Lots for $1 because I love chocolate and cherry flavor combinations. It turned out great. Besides doubling the recipe and adding chopped chocolate, and omitting the pecans, I followed the recipe. I also took Laurama's advice (great idea, Laurama) and made the cherry sauce she mentioned in her review, adding in the drained- off water from the dried cherries in the cake to the frozen cherries and sugar and cornstarch. What a wonderful, beautiful looking treat. The chocolate and the cherry sauce makes it more of a mainstream dessert than a coffee cake, but I think that is a good thing. I am the baking heroine tonight at my house. I think this cake is really versatile and is just waiting for more versions for people to imagine. I think dates and candied orange peel would make a great combination, for example. Loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Yum! A great 1 bowl cake! Used a square pan. Decreased sugar to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 tsp of almond extract into the batter. Did not add the pecans/sugar topping. Used 1 egg. Delish! It's worth the effort to buy the almond extract. Cherries and almonds are so good together. Next time, (and there will be a next time), I think I will make a cherry topping - 1 1/2 cups frozen cherries, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1 Tbls. cornstarch. Put in small saucepan and heat until thickened. Spoon over top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Great recipe! I made it first time yesterday to take to a friends house, and it was so good that when I left them with the rest of the cake I had to go home make another one for the house! I followed the recipe, except for using plain yogurt with an extra 1/2 tspn of vanilla and slivered almonds instead of pecans. Apart from soaking the fruit it takes just minutes to put to put together. I can't wait to try this same recipe with other kinds of fruit combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Lovely cake that came out looking perfect. It reminded me a bit of a cake-y clafoutis. The recipe is forgiving -- I used vinegar/milk to replace the yogurt and vanilla extract in place of almond. Next time, I will use more fruit, as some pieces had lots and others hardly any cherries. Am eager to try this with other fruit, too -- blueberries, apricots, peaches, etc. My husband raved about this. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
i was looking forward to this since i saw another review that said how it stays moist for days...when fresh, it wasn't moist at all, but when i wrapped it in foil that night it became super moist! however, the flavor was still lacing even though i added more cherries than stated. probably will not make agai with so many other recipes out there...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I used fresh cherries because we went picking and had lots of them. I actually liked it better with fresh ones because I made this recipe before. I used a bundt pan and sprinkled with powder sugar. I used almonds instead of pecans I prefer them more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This is delicious! I've brought it to three different functions, and it has been raved about each time. For one, I left out the nuts entirely (due to allergies), but sprinkled powdered sugar on top. The other two times, I used chopped almonds on top instead of pecans. Also, I've used vanilla extract, since it's all I've had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States