Dried Cherry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sbrownley
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I loved it and made it with Truvia instead of with sugar. Next time I'll add some cinnamon in the cake mix and Demerara and cinnamon for the topping ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I won't be making this again. The sour cherries didn't taste good with the cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I found this cake to be just wonderful. I discovered too late that I had run out of almond extract so used vanilla to soak the cherries and also added a bit more to the cake itself. I doubled the recipe so it would adequately fill a 9" round pound cake pan (with hole in middle). I also decided on impulse to chop up a large dark chocolate bar I snagged at Big Lots for $1 because I love chocolate and cherry flavor combinations. It turned out great. Besides doubling the recipe and adding chopped chocolate, and omitting the pecans, I followed the recipe. I also took Laurama's advice (great idea, Laurama) and made the cherry sauce she mentioned in her review, adding in the drained- off water from the dried cherries in the cake to the frozen cherries and sugar and cornstarch. What a wonderful, beautiful looking treat. The chocolate and the cherry sauce makes it more of a mainstream dessert than a coffee cake, but I think that is a good thing. I am the baking heroine tonight at my house. I think this cake is really versatile and is just waiting for more versions for people to imagine. I think dates and candied orange peel would make a great combination, for example. Loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Yum! A great 1 bowl cake! Used a square pan. Decreased sugar to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 tsp of almond extract into the batter. Did not add the pecans/sugar topping. Used 1 egg. Delish! It's worth the effort to buy the almond extract. Cherries and almonds are so good together. Next time, (and there will be a next time), I think I will make a cherry topping - 1 1/2 cups frozen cherries, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1 Tbls. cornstarch. Put in small saucepan and heat until thickened. Spoon over top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Great recipe! I made it first time yesterday to take to a friends house, and it was so good that when I left them with the rest of the cake I had to go home make another one for the house! I followed the recipe, except for using plain yogurt with an extra 1/2 tspn of vanilla and slivered almonds instead of pecans. Apart from soaking the fruit it takes just minutes to put to put together. I can't wait to try this same recipe with other kinds of fruit combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Lovely cake that came out looking perfect. It reminded me a bit of a cake-y clafoutis. The recipe is forgiving -- I used vinegar/milk to replace the yogurt and vanilla extract in place of almond. Next time, I will use more fruit, as some pieces had lots and others hardly any cherries. Am eager to try this with other fruit, too -- blueberries, apricots, peaches, etc. My husband raved about this. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
i was looking forward to this since i saw another review that said how it stays moist for days...when fresh, it wasn't moist at all, but when i wrapped it in foil that night it became super moist! however, the flavor was still lacing even though i added more cherries than stated. probably will not make agai with so many other recipes out there...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I used fresh cherries because we went picking and had lots of them. I actually liked it better with fresh ones because I made this recipe before. I used a bundt pan and sprinkled with powder sugar. I used almonds instead of pecans I prefer them more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This is delicious! I've brought it to three different functions, and it has been raved about each time. For one, I left out the nuts entirely (due to allergies), but sprinkled powdered sugar on top. The other two times, I used chopped almonds on top instead of pecans. Also, I've used vanilla extract, since it's all I've had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
OMG! Sooo easy to prepare and oh so delicious! I followed Naples suggestion and used light olive oil and silvered almonds instead of pecans. Cake is sooo light and fluffy and not overly sweet perfect with a cup of coffee....next time I'm going to add 3/4 of a cup of almonds and roughly chopped my almonds it was a little difficult cutting the cake I couldnt get clean perfect slices, oh and I forgot to mention that I used fat free yogurt, I loved this coffecake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States