Dried Cherry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly and it made a delicious coffee cake. Maybe could have used a few more cherries, or I would like to try a berry flavored yogurt but again, it was great like it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I doubled the recipe and it was the perfect amount for a bundt pan. Instead of soaking the cherries, I just added the extract to the batter because I didn't have time to let them soak. I also added a powder sugar glaze. A wonderful pound cake recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
My husband and I received a box of dried cherries as a wedding present and I spent quite a few months cooking with dried cherries. It was a lot of fun actually. This cake was one of my favorites. The texture was very nice and the flavor was wonderful, not too sweet. We took the cake and a soup I made with dried cherries to a potluck dinner with another couple and we enjoyed every bite. My friend suggested a lemon sauce to drizzle on top, so I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy Sue Ruby Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamston, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Friday I made this cake; I cut the cherries in half; I doubled the recipe for everything except the eggs and used two whole eggs; I threw a few pecan pieces into the batter. I took it to church tne next day. It was all eaten very quickly. Today I'm following the same recipe again for work tomorrow. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This recipe is absolutely scrumptious. I used sour cream instead of yogurt and my family loved it. This recipe will definitely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very good cake. I had to substitute sour cream (added 1 t. vanilla to batter)for yogurt and slivered almonds for pecans because they where all I had on hand. Very moist, delicious cake that looks pretty. My daughter wanted the recipe when she tried it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Oh my, I just tested a piece of this cake warm from the oven. This is the best coffee cake I have ever made and it's so easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
fabulous, made it as is and it tasted great. thank you this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Mmm this is good! I made following changes: replaced oil with equal amount of melted margarine (better flavor), reduced sugar to 2/3 cup, added 1/4 tsp each of vanilla and almond extract to cake batter, took out cherries and placed some peach slices on top of the cake, and sprinkled sliced almonds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Nice cake! Very easy to make! I used a almonds and a fruit summermix with dried cherries, cranberries, strawberries and raspberries. It was very nice and gone before I knew it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TahiraLativa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States