Dried Cherry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I tried this recipe and I doubled it to make two. It failed misserably. It rised up, spilled all over the bottom and never baked completely. The only thing i recommend is not too double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This cake is awesome!! I did make a few small changes- I used a heaping cup of dried cherries, added almond extract (1 teas.) to batter, used a whole egg instead of egg white, and used walnuts instead of pecans. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I really am a better cook than a baker, BUT this cake turned out very good and was very easy. I had the dried cherries, but no nuts, so I made it w/ greek yogurt, bumped up the cherries to 1 cup, and drizzled a little glaze over the top (powdered sugar, water & almond extract) and it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjoy222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I was worried it might taste a bit yogurty but it didn't. It was the big hit of Christmas, everyone thought it was the nicest thing they had eaten all holiday. The only thing I had to change was I had a 170g bag of berries and cherries which needed using up so I put those in instead of 90g of cherries - it was just the right amount of fruit and absolutely delish. Making it again tomorrow for the three kings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Senija, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
WOW.....THIS IS GREAT.HAD A BUNCH OF DRIED CHERRIES THAT NEEDED TO BE USED....THIS IS EXCELLENT........ONE IS IN THE OVEN RIGHT NOW...WE ARE WAITING FOR THE TIMER TO GO OFF...DOUBLED THE CHERRIES THE FIRST TIME...THIS TIME I DOUBLED THAT....(2 CUPS) HOPING IT WILL BE OK....AND NOT TOO MUCH....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
MMMMMMM...Incredible! So soft and moist - similar to pound cake, but not as dense. Definitely try it while its still warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I modified this recipe according to what I had on hand: used vanilla extract instead of almond, canola oil instead of vegetable, sour cream instead of vanilla yogurt, sliced almonds instead of pecans, and "greased and floured" the baking dish with butter and sugar since I used the last of my flour making the cake. I also added chocolate chips, and baked it more like 50 minutes instead of 35, but my oven runs slow. It was SO GOOD that my picky husband is hiding the rest of it until he gets home from work. He's afraid I'll eat it while he's gone. Last night, after his first bite, he actually said: "I think you've mastered baking!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I've made this cake 3 times now and have tweaked it to my idea of perfection. I prefer it with 1/2c of slivered almonds folded in the batter and with Greek yoghurt - I add 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I also think the cake tastes better when made with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Love cherries and this cake was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Super easy and so yummy! I tried this recipe to use up some dried cherries but it is so good I think I'll actually have to buy more to make another cake! My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States