Dried Cherry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Thanks for your recipe Melanie. Should this have baking soda? Mine came out great but it didn't rise much, I followed directions to the letter and used a 9 inch cake pan but the height of mine looks 1/2 of yours. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Pretty nice flavor and quick/easy. The texture was moist and crumbly as expected for a yogurt cake. I used strawberry yogurt and replaced the pecans with chopped pistachios. Baked in 9x9 inch square pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
really good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Wonderful light cake! My sister even liked it, and she is very picky. Followed the recipe exactly. no problems. Making again today for picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caramia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herminie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Got a lot of compliments on this when I brought it to a summer BBQ. I thought it was nice but not great. Next time, I will try it warm out of the oven. I suspect it would be best that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
although this cake was delicious and light i felt it had far too much sugaar in it, i have decreased the sugar to 1/2-3/4 cup, which made it perfect as original sugar amount was 1 cup. that is the only reason i gave it 4 stars. but worth baking this as my husband loved it but said it was a bit sweet, the first time i made it and great the second time i reduced the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ailse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Ok so I was a little skeptical but i had a huge container of cherry fat free yogurt left and it was getting ready to go bad. I did not have any dried fruit so I skipped that part. I added 1/4 tsp of almond extract and 1/4 tsp of vanilla to the batter. Used apple sauce instead of oil, added both eggs, and used chopped almonds instead of pecans. Also used brown sugar instead of white sugar with the almonds. It came out delicious. Incredibly moist. Next time going to make a yogurt pudding to go with it. But it is delicious by itself. Serious five stars. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
WOW. I made this cake today as per reviewed and it was incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This cake was delicious! I did use 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar as well as pecan oil (healthier). Because I already had fat free plain yogurt, I just added some vanilla paste. This recipe is a definite keeper and I will use with other fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I tried this recipe and I doubled it to make two. It failed misserably. It rised up, spilled all over the bottom and never baked completely. The only thing i recommend is not too double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States