Dried Beef Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
My husband just LOVES this cheese ball! We follow the recipe exactly, except for the green onion (he really hates those), and we use a bit more dried beef than called for, and we don't find it too salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Blomquist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I looked this recipe up because I had lost my original recipe. I'm using this on Christmas Eve - minus the MSG. After reading the reviews, I wanted to state that I am not a salt lover. I will not be adding the salt or MSG, and I ALWAYS rinse the dried beef before adding. Always turns out perfect for me this way. If you want to get extra randy with it...substitute the Worcestershire sauce for Tobasco or Texas Pete. Thanks for posting this recipe! I feared the husband would be going without this year. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I'd give it a 0 if I could. Who makes anything for a family dinner with MSG anymore? This cheese ball gave my brother a serious migraine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUPPUSAMY
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
The other ladies are right - don't add the onion salt or MSG. Make it the night before and your favors will have time to meld. I like to roll in parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I've used a similar recipe for years. I use 2 pkg. cream cheese to dried beef, green onion to taste and worchestershire sauce. NO salt or MSG is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beattyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This has become a holiday tradition for us! My husband loves this cheese ball and drools over the idea of having it at Christmas. :) I don't use the MSG. I do shape it into a ball and roll in chopped pecans. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I only gave this 4 stars because if I wouldn't have read the reviews of other similar recipes before hand I would have also added the onion salt and it would have been too salty. I also omitted the MSG because it's just not needed. I've made this before but just checked the recipe to ensure I had all ingredients right. Its too salty for sure if you add the onion salt, so I just omit it. You can't tell the difference. Sometimes I just add a few more onions to the mixture. It's important to use room temperature cream cheese in order to be able to mix it easily. Easy recipe, great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
WAS NOT THAT VERY GOOD LESS ONION AND MSG AND IT WOULD BE FINE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This (minus the MSG) was a hit at my Grandmother's surprise 65th birthday party. I thought it was ok...but everyone else seemed to enjoy it! There were not any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYMEPOOH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Staffordsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This family must have been denied salt as children. Every ingredient has salt. You have to drink a lot of liquor not to notice this baby's real taste. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States