Dried Beef Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This recipe is always a hit with my family and friends. I make it without the MSG and onion salt. I always double this recipe, because it's never enough, use 2 green onions, 1 1/2 Tblsp. Worchesteshire sauce and the "family size" pack of dried beef. Reserve a little of the beef to roll the ball in...it makes a pretty presentation. Great with wheat crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATRANTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Yummmm! This is my husband'd favorite year after year. It'a always the first one gone. This is such good stuff for such an easy recipe to do. The directions don't say it but that you have to rinse the salt from the beef first and then chop the beef into tiny pieces. I reserved some of the chopped dried beef to roll the finished balls in. Great with veggie sticks, Wheat Thins Big crackers and Triscuit crackers. I made two smaller cheese balls. A keeper ... great meat and cheese ball recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This is the worst recipe I have ever tried! It sounded great & I made it for an OFFICE TEA-it was so bad that everyone threw it out!I knew it didn't taste good to me, but it was to late to do anything but take it-I would not recommend anyone trying this, you will be wasting Cream Cheese & Dried Beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
wonderful!! this is also what I use for "pin-wheels". just spread thin on tortillas roll up and toss in the fridge for a while, slice into little "pin wheels" and watch your snack tray empty in minutes at any party!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is a favorite! I altered it a little the 2nd time I made it. I added 8 oz of sour cream, used 6 oz of beef and instead of green onion, I used 1 tablespooon of minced horsey for a little zing! (I omitted the monosodium glutamate) I served it with the new Garlic Butter Ritz crackers! It was gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Very quick and easy recipe. Delicious. I did leave out monosodium glutamate and used onion powder instead of onion salt. I received tons of compliments on this cheese ball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I have been making this recipe for nearly 18 years, (I started when I was a kid with my mom). SANS MSG. It is so good, it's the only cheese ball I make, and every time I take it to a party I always get asked for the recipe. At one party I had 3 people calling me throughout the next week asking me for the recipe, I didn't even know any of them they just found out who made the cheese ball from the host and called me! Mince up about 2 TBPS of White Onion for a punch of flavor! You will be the celebrity of the party if you bring this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This was wonderful. I took others suggestions and skipped salt & msg and added garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDP4445

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This is a wonderful cheeseball! Exactly what I was looking for, and it was a huge hit at my best friend's bridal shower. I added about a teaspoon of horseradish for a little extra bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This was my first cheese ball and we loved it. My kids are very HARD to please and they loved it too. I used Bacon Bits with it. OHHHHHH, it was so YMMMUY. I will making this over and over. Thanks Kristie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States