Dried Beef Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This was excellent. Yes, you need to rinse the salt off of the dried beef first. On my container of dried beef, it states that this should be done when adding to a recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Excellent! I didn't use the monosodium glutamate, but rather increased the salt and added a scant pinch of white sugar. It was a hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Yummmm! This is my husband'd favorite year after year. It'a always the first one gone. This is such good stuff for such an easy recipe to do. The directions don't say it but that you have to rinse the salt from the beef first and then chop the beef into tiny pieces. I reserved some of the chopped dried beef to roll the finished balls in. Great with veggie sticks, Wheat Thins Big crackers and Triscuit crackers. I made two smaller cheese balls. A keeper ... great meat and cheese ball recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Very tasty! I subtracted the MSG and used beef jerky. I subbed onion powder for onion salt. Figured the salt in the jerky would be plenty. Also molded the mixture into a ball and rolled in a 1/2 cup of pecans. Makes for a nice presentation and mild nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I add chopped pimentos to this cheeseball to give more of the "red" and "green" colors for Christmas. My daughter gets downright upset if there isn't one on the appetizer table at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This was wonderful. I took others suggestions and skipped salt & msg and added garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDP4445

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is a favorite! I altered it a little the 2nd time I made it. I added 8 oz of sour cream, used 6 oz of beef and instead of green onion, I used 1 tablespooon of minced horsey for a little zing! (I omitted the monosodium glutamate) I served it with the new Garlic Butter Ritz crackers! It was gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
It was way too salty. We ended up throwing it all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This is a great cheese ball. I too use onion powder instead of salt and leave out the MSG...it's just not necessary. Great with buttery round crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I took others recommendations and didn't add the salt. I don't think I nor anyone else could have eaten this with any extra salt, and I eat more salt than anyone I've ever eaten with. I would suggest onion powder if you want the extra onion flavor. Also, I din't add the MSG, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States