Dried Beef Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was an easy recipe to make and most people liked it. I don't know if I would make this to take to a party again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacee Shaw Hirte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I've made this for our past 5 holiday parties and still get asked for the recipe every year. I do make 2 modifications. I rinse half of the beef I use, otherwise it's too salty for my tastes. Also, I don't add the Worsteshire Sauce. A good variation is to replace the beef with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roswell_chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
LOVE IT and so does everyone else I know. Wonderfrul for parties or just eating and home w/ the kids. Pretty good w/ stick pretzels too. Make all the time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
It was good except for the overpowering taste of the Worchestershire sauce. I think if you cut that back to a teaspoon instead of a tablespoon it might not feel like you are drinking it from the bottle. I liked that the recipe was simple and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doc the WV Gourmet
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I take this cheese ball to most affairs that I am invited to. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I have used this recipe over the years and it is delicious. I also add 2 cups of cheedar cheese and green onions to it. I do not use MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
If you expect to eat this, you MUST rinse the salt from the meat. The recipe overall is excellent though (i don't use MSG either), even if you forget to rinse and rinse and rinse and rinse.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chester, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I didn't have onion salt, so I used onion powder and added garlic powder. Instead of MSG I added a tiny bit of season salt. This recipe was a HUGE hit at the school Christmas party. Not only did people rave, but I made a double batch that was almost completely gone--at a pot luck, even! It's super easy and people loved it! I will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Unity, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallup, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This was excellent. Yes, you need to rinse the salt off of the dried beef first. On my container of dried beef, it states that this should be done when adding to a recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Excellent! I didn't use the monosodium glutamate, but rather increased the salt and added a scant pinch of white sugar. It was a hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States