Dried Beef Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
It was good except for the overpowering taste of the Worchestershire sauce. I think if you cut that back to a teaspoon instead of a tablespoon it might not feel like you are drinking it from the bottle. I liked that the recipe was simple and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doc the WV Gourmet
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I take this cheese ball to most affairs that I am invited to. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I have used this recipe over the years and it is delicious. I also add 2 cups of cheedar cheese and green onions to it. I do not use MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
If you expect to eat this, you MUST rinse the salt from the meat. The recipe overall is excellent though (i don't use MSG either), even if you forget to rinse and rinse and rinse and rinse.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chester, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I didn't have onion salt, so I used onion powder and added garlic powder. Instead of MSG I added a tiny bit of season salt. This recipe was a HUGE hit at the school Christmas party. Not only did people rave, but I made a double batch that was almost completely gone--at a pot luck, even! It's super easy and people loved it! I will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Unity, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallup, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This was excellent. Yes, you need to rinse the salt off of the dried beef first. On my container of dried beef, it states that this should be done when adding to a recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Excellent! I didn't use the monosodium glutamate, but rather increased the salt and added a scant pinch of white sugar. It was a hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Yummmm! This is my husband'd favorite year after year. It'a always the first one gone. This is such good stuff for such an easy recipe to do. The directions don't say it but that you have to rinse the salt from the beef first and then chop the beef into tiny pieces. I reserved some of the chopped dried beef to roll the finished balls in. Great with veggie sticks, Wheat Thins Big crackers and Triscuit crackers. I made two smaller cheese balls. A keeper ... great meat and cheese ball recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Very tasty! I subtracted the MSG and used beef jerky. I subbed onion powder for onion salt. Figured the salt in the jerky would be plenty. Also molded the mixture into a ball and rolled in a 1/2 cup of pecans. Makes for a nice presentation and mild nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I add chopped pimentos to this cheeseball to give more of the "red" and "green" colors for Christmas. My daughter gets downright upset if there isn't one on the appetizer table at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States